Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kaitlynn.C
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Really good! I have to say they were some of the best scones I ever had. But using a food processor makes the job a lot easier. And I had ran out of all-propose flour so I used a little bit of whole wheat and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Semichee
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These are definitely better than what you buy at bakeries but I was a bit disappointed as they are on the dry side. I baked them for 16 minutes and the bottoms were brown while the tops were still pale. I broiled them for another minute to get the tops golden. Maybe 400F is too hot for my oven? I wish they were a bit more moist but the flavor itself is very good. I might give them another go but lower the baking temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great! added chopped dates instead of raisins in first batch, then chopped dates and chocolate chips in second batch Both were very good These were my first time trying to make scones and will be making them again. Also the grated frozen butter was ingenious!!Will be using that trick every time I need to make crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Peiffer
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great and easy recipe. Yes using your food processor makes its incredible easy and quick. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was impressed that the first time I made them they came out great... follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. suggestion: just be sure your bowl is big enough to mix the dry ingredients with the wet ones ... need room for your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Super Terrific Recipe and I used a Gluten Free flour mix!!! Substituting these flours can yield mixed results but these were great. I used my dough hook to help mix, since I don't have a food processor. I also added a few raspberries, since I love them. For those of us with celiac disease or others who cannot tolerate gluten finding a recipe that adapts well is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Sautéed sliced apples, fine chopped walnuts and raisins with butter and cinnamon and a little brown sugar. Let it cool while I made the dough, then added it to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Delicious!!! Possibly the best I've ever had! I made the cranberry orange and added a bit of coconut and decreased the sugar. I also used spelt flour instead of all purpose, otherwise followed the recipe as is. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Moist, delicious and easy to make! I lived in Ireland for two years and this is the first recipe I'Ve found that compares to the scones I had in While there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time this morning and they turned out wonderfully! I like the fact that they are not too sweet. I added the dried cranberries and orange zest and the flavour was wonderful! I can't wait to try other versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States