Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
These are so good, and extremely versatile. I added dried cranberries and white chocolate chips, and they were fabulous! Will make these again & again. 12/29/08 addition--these are also fantastic with dried cherries and lime zest & chocolate chips and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This recipe is so easy to prepare and tastes delicious. The scones were the absolute rave at a babyshower/teaparty we had for our cousin. Cannot recommend them highly enough. Why buy scones when these are so great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe is excellent. I prepared the scones with dried cranberries, but had no oranges on hand so I left the zest out. I used fat free sour cream and followed the advice of other reviewers and mixed it in the blender. A quick way to a delicious breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
So simple (like the title) and SO yummy. I made the cranberry orange version...perfection. For that chocolate fix, I added about 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips too...and about a tsp. of the juice from the orange I zested. Try it-- you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
very easy recipe, very delicious, taste just like the ones I have tried at a local tearoom, very light, buttery, rich taste. I served them with cream and blueberry and strawberry jam. Delish!! I did not have unsalted butter, but just used salted butter and left out the salt, very easy! I did not use the raisins either, tasted good just plain with the fruit jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
One word. Heaven!! The recipe is easy and quick with fantastic results. Sweet, light and flaky. I'm amazed and I couldn't be happier that I tried this one. We ate ours with Raspberry Curd and Lemon Curd. I also left out the raisins. Better then our local tea room. Now all I have to figure out is how to make some tea punch/british punch. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I've used tons of recipes for scones over the years since scones are one of my favorite things. I was actually looking for one similar to a recipe I lost but came across these.... These happen to be my new favorite recipe. It's the sour cream that makes it I think. I decided on a cranberry almond variaton when I made them. Add 1tsp almond extract, and crasins instead of raisins. Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is the best scone recipes! I have tried many different recipes. Very moist & flaky. I made the lemon-blueberry & the almond-cherry & plain. I also made lemon curd to top them. (I used the perfect lemon curd recipe on Allrecipes.) Also very good with rasberry jam & lemon curd on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I'm not a "cook" but this recipe grabbed my attention. They were easy to prepare and modify (I made cranberry almond scones). I don't even like to cook but these were fabulous!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Delicious recipe - I just recommend adding a bit more of the orange rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States