Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fantastic! Followed recipe exactly (only changed raisins to crasins;-) Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We added 1 tsp of cinnamon. Nice and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the best recipe I discovered in 2013. Easy to make, even without a food processor to grate the butter. I also found that I could make the dough ahead and refrigerate it (sealed tightly to so it didn't dry out) and bake it a little longer without compromising the quality. Everyone who tried it loved that it was more moist than traditional scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
best scones i've had! i added a tablespoon more sour cream, along with some golden raisins and craisins (also cold butter, cut in with a pastry cutter...didn't have frozen butter). took a few minutes longer to bake than stated in the recipe (about 22 minutes for my oven), but they were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Fantastic! For those who do not have large food processors: I cut my butter into little slices/pats before freezing. Next day, mixed my dry ingredients in my stand mixer; diced my frozen butter (honestly takes less than 2 min; it doesn't need to be perfect but just small bits of butter) with a knife and slowly mixed it into the dry. Used my hand to squeeze it together a bit more and followed the rest of the recipe as is. Not too much clean up and I added cranberries and orange zest and they were wonderful - not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Had no problem making these by hand. I increased the baking soda to 1/2t. I've used the basic recipe and added 2t of cinnamon and mini cinnamon chips, dried blueberries, orange zest and dried cranberries, and lemon zest and poppy seeds. It's amazingly versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This would be a 5 star but the cooking time seems to off and my first batch overcooked. Decrease to 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this about 6 months ago and make them regularly now. Absolutely perfect! I use the beater bar with my Kitchen Aid mixer - it is no fail. I took the hint from the cafe owner - mix the dry ingredients, turn the mixer on low and drizzle in the butter . . oh my gosh, it makes these beautiful little clumps, just like finger mixing. Then I put is much more goodies - a good 2 cups worth (usually a mix of coarsely chopped pecans, dried cherries and craisins and raisins - pretty much what ever sounds good). . and sprinkle the top with slivered almonds and sugar. I keep wanting to frost them, but they don't last long enough! Don't be afraid to try the mixer method as the cleanup is way easier than the food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made these with a chocolate/coconut twist and they were a hit. First I substituted 1/2 C of cake flour for a 1/2 C of All Purpose flour. Then I added to the dry mix ~1/2 C of mini chocolate chips and ~1/2 C of sweetened shredded coconut. To the wet mix I added a teaspoon of coconut extract. Thought they were better than the StickyFinger mix from World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did not have sour cream but used an equal measure of Ohobani Blueberry Yogurt and they turned out great. I loved the hint about using the shredder to cut up the butter as this was the part I never did well before. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States