Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the BEST scone recipe I have EVER tried! I have made these scones many times and they always turn out perfect! If I am making these for a party, I like to spilt the batch in to two balls and make 16 mini scones. I never sprinkle them with sugar, but I do like to make Devonshire cream to go on them. It is Heavenly! I also like to try different mix-ins. The suggested variations are great, but my favorite is mixing in mini chocolate chips! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by burntsugar
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I just finished making these, substituting dried cherries for the currants. They were dense like you'd expect a scone to be, yet light and buttery. I did sift my ingredients, so I'm not sure if that had any effect on my batch. They were so easy and quick to make up, and I'm sure they'd impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Instead of making a mess with grading frozen butter, I cut in softened butter with a pastry cutter. much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! Rather than using a food processor, I cut cold butter into cubes and used a pastry cutter to incorporate into flour mixture. I didn't have sour cream so I used vanilla Greek yogurt. The scones turned out light, moist and fluffy. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trekomania
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Loved this recipe! I substituted dried cherries for rains. Grating frozen butter is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is wonderful I love to bake and i made these scone for a church breakfast and they were a hit.they were so good that a few people placed orders for a few dozen.the scones were moist and tasty and it lends itself well to any add on you would to try . I just made it today and added poppy seeds and switch out the vanilla for lemon peel and juice and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made these scones for breakfast whenever we have company, which is often, and always get rave reviews. My personal favorite is to use cherries with almond extract. I use a pastry cutter to work in the butter and it is much easier. Definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I just made these scones and I think they're delicious! I love scones and this is the best recipe I've found so far. I also made them in the food processor with great results. They're very light and they melt in your mouth. I'll be making another batch very soon!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeeboom
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe!! Made it with my little bro. Super fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I melted the butter instead of grating it and saw no difference in taste or texture, threw in a cup of chopped candied cherries, 1/4 teaspoon of cherry extract, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, after baking I drizzled with confectionery sugar mixed with 1/2 and 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon orange extract. They turned out perfect everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States