Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I melted the butter instead of grating it and saw no difference in taste or texture, threw in a cup of chopped candied cherries, 1/4 teaspoon of cherry extract, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, after baking I drizzled with confectionery sugar mixed with 1/2 and 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon orange extract. They turned out perfect everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just found this the other day and we love it! we've made 2 batches so far and my two daughters have eaten most of them. . Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent. Fast and easy. I put in all the ingredients in the food processor and pulsed until mixed. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I love these! I often bring them camping because they're filling and don't need to stay in a cooler. They turn out fluffy and not overly sweet. My favorite variation on them is chopping up very ripe strawberries in place of raisins. Kneading in the flour takes some elbow grease but is totally doable without a food processor. I also just scoop the dough in lumps out of the bowl and shape it into triangles straight on the pan to save a bit of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is the best scone recipe I have found; I've been using it for years. I usually make the combination that calls for the dried cherries and almond extract. (I do increase the almond extract amount a tiny bit for more flavor.) Scones are intended to be a bit on the dry side, but not "unedible dry." This recipe is just right. I'm quite sure it's the sour cream that makes the difference. I'm also kind of perplexed by the comments from those who think it's too hard to make these without a food processor. I've made this recipe both with and without a food processor, and neither way is labor intensive to me. The key to making them easier to mix by hand is to use a cheese grater to grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture. This makes it much easier to work the butter into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made blueberry scones. Didn't grate frozen butter, just used cold butter with the food processor method and they were fabulous!! Everyone gobbled them up! Now I need to make more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
There really wasn't much flavor with these scones. I made the dough in the food processor like the reviews said, and I added cinnamon and brown sugar and apricots. And raw sugar on the tops. However they just had a bland flavor, next time I will definitely have to increase the sugar. I also used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. The texture was nice, I'll put some butter and jam on them and maybe they will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I make these almost weekly. I use light butter and nonfat yogurt to make them healthier. Many variations are delicious. I like tropical (coconut extract and dried tropical fruit), cranberry almond, & white chocolate cherry the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
DO NOT OVER-WORK THE DOUGH. I mix the dough with liquids in five turns and do not use an electric mixer. I also sift the flour to aerate it, and use a LARGE mixing bowl for easier mixing. And I prefer to use buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My kids and I love the scones! I needed to add more moisture to the recipe because of the weather in NJ today, so I added a little bit of orange juice. I did not have any raisins, I added sliced almonds in place of them. I will be making this recipe again and again, but will add other ingredients to change it up. Thank you for posting the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States