Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
We use this recipe a lot. Very easy and very good scones! We make them with different kinds of ingredients, but our favorite is with barberries, a little tart berry that comes from Iran. They can be found in a lot of middle eastern or Persian markets. The are sometimes known as zereshk, their Persian name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danley Shackelford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my go to recipe for scones. Everybody who has tried them loves them and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I had volunteered to make 24 scones for a church function for this morning that started at 9 am. So, last night I made three batches of scones, a low fat recipe from a book I have here, and I burned two batches. The third, I watched very carefully and pulled them out of the oven at the right time, but they were dry and tasteless. I decided I would get up early and make some muffins, instead, even though I had promised scones. So, this morning I got up at 7 am and found this recipe and how many people tried it, so I decided to bite the bullet and try this one. I made two batches, cutting each batch into 10 pieces instead of 8, and carefully watched them as they baked. They looked nice coming out of the oven. (I didn't have enough dried cranberries left to put in both batches, so I put chopped walnuts in one and combined the chopped walnuts and the rest of the cranberries for the other batch). To my and my husband's delight they tasted good right out of the oven. But, I thought, the real test would be what they tasted like after they cooled and even hours later when they were very cooled. I took my 19 scones to the church function (my hubby and I shared one to taste) and while the program was running, one of the ladies from the kitchen came up behind me and said they were the best scones she had ever eaten and wanted the recipe. I guess I will be making these again for church functions and home, too. Thanks for the excellent recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love to bake and decided to try something new, which is exactly how I stumbled upon this recipe. I've made it twice in the last two days--first time with vanilla and orange and the second batch were cranberry/ lemon with white chocolate. Very easy to make, and mixing up what you out in them is half the fun. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Ulsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These scones are absolutely fantastic!!! They are honestly better than anything you can buy in a bakery. I made them for a Christmas brunch and added dried cranberries. My son doesn't like scones because they are dry but these have a little moisture in them that makes them taste so great. You can make extras and freeze them. The only thing I did differently was to cut the scones in half. Instead of 8 scones, I had 16. Most people seem to prefer the option of the smaller size and eating more if they want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love scones and am always looking for the perfect recipe for them. I think this is it! Nice and moist but still like a traditional scone. I always like to make my own version of clotted cream to spread on them. Just sweeten sour cream with sugar and refrigerate while making the scones. Absolutely heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved this recipe, thank you for sharing and yes I grated frozen butter in a minute and it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
So easy, so tender and flaky! Mine didn't turn out very moist like some other people's but they were just what I expected (except flakier, yum!) and were delicious with some butter on them :) Made them within less than 40 minutes in food processor, and that includes clean-up time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm not really scone eating girl, but those ones made me crave more and more of them. And it is so easy to make additions and changes to the recipe to creat new flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I cut the butter into a 1/2" cubes before freezing them. I mixed the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and butter cubes in a food processor. I used butter milk instead of sour cream. The results were amazing! Very simple yet versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masami Suga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States