Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i reduced the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 cup quick cooking oats. i also cut back on the sugar and added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips to the dry mixture. i substituted plain greek yogurt for the sour cream and added a little milk and a little vanilla extract. they turned out very well! although grating the butter early in the morning does seem to be time consuming, i'll definitely use this recipe again. if i had a food processor for this size recipe, i would definitely go that route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful. These came out perfectly! I am a huge scone fan, but had never made them myself before this. I added cherry juice infused craisins and white chocolate pieces in lieu of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami-Lynn
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I used the food processor method. So easy and these were SO GOOD! I ate two! I used craisins and grated orange rind. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This recipe is easy & very tasty. I just used it make pumpkin scones with butterscotch & white choc chips. I forgot the egg without it effecting the outcome. But the pumpkin & sour cream totaled 3/4c so I added quite a bit of flour & chips on the board. Made glaze with 10x, pumpkin pie coffee creamer & almond extract. Got 24 scones. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made these scones and they were absolutely amazing!! I did change it up a bit though. Instead of sour cream, I used buttermilk. Instead of raisins, I used frozen blueberries. It was a bit messy, but they turned out amazingly light, fluffy, and moist. I wish I had taken a photo of them, but they didn't last long enough for me to get a photo of them. Haha!! Also, a hint: If you find yourself in a pickle (like I did) without an egg, you can substitute 2 TBS of Water, 1 TBS of Vegetable or Canola oil, and 2 tsp of baking powder, trust me...no one will notice the difference!! :) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Love it! Simple to make and fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great recipe, i substituted whipping cream and cranberries instead of sour cream and raisins. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have been making this exact recipe for years. It's my favorite go to scone recipe and I add all kinds of things. The sour cream makes it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ole_dutka
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I just made it, it's perfect! Super easy. I made it without the raisins but topped it with a cream I made (just mixed sour cream, sugar, and whipped cream cheese), and topped that with strawberry jam. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Every time I have made these they have been a complete hit!! A very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States