Simple Savory Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made it for 12 servings and ended up adding a third cup of Quinoa because it wasn't cooking down. Either way it was a big hit. I also added two red bell peppers and minced all the vegetables so everything was smaller in it. I had several people asking for the recipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney minthorn
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed cooking this and it was easy. This was my first time using turmeric. My roommate and I both noticed right away our tongues tingling from it. It went away soon after eating. Not a bad thing..just weird. Texture: mushy Flavor: strong and bland at the same time. I would give this another try and replace some of the turmeric with something spicy and add some chicken or texture of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney minthorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaysadilla
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I could eat this everyday, I love it!! Although instead of vegetable stock I used a tbsp of chicken broth powder. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Smells great while cooking. Sauteed onion and garlic with the spices (totally forgot about the celery) and added 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp cumin with it. I actually ran out of carrots so I used frozen California mix minus the broccoli because I feel carrots and cauliflower and curry are heavenly. Added chicken stock (plus a bit extra by accident) and red quinoa. Verdict? Not bad; I personally think there's room for more spice but that's just my palate! Kiddo liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My kids and I really liked this. I used water because I didn't have vegetable stock and needed to add more salt. I also used fresh basil instead of dried, so I tripled the amount called for. I toasted the quinoa in a pan over medium heat for a few minutes before adding it to the sauteed veggies, than I added the spices and stirred before adding the water. It took around 30 minutes to absorb the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Sorry, didn't enjoy this recipe. I cooked it on medium heat and it was still crunchy, so I then added another cup of vegetable broth and lowered the stove even more, still ended a bit crunchy. What I was read elsewhere is that you should let the broth come to a boil first, then add the quinoa. And everywhere I looked had more water or broth ratio to quinoa than this recipe, and I agree, it's not enough broth. I'm willing to try it one more time, with a few tweaks since it has a lot of promise, but was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this. Instead of celery and carrots i substituted frozen carrots and peas. I put them with the onion still frozen. They thawed nicely while the onion cooked. I used chicken broth and lemon juice because I didn't have vegetable broth or a lime. It's hard to get the family to try some of the healthier options like quinoa. This is a great way to get them started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
simple and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viktoriia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I modified the recipe to give it a bit more kick and freshness. I added a couple of Thai bird chiles, fresh (not dried) basil, lemon juice (rather than lime), and like others have noted, I used a mandolin to julienne the carrots. This is a simple, easy recipe with great flavor. i'm going to add pine nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
So far, I have not been a huge fan of quinoa, but this recipe might change my mind. It is easy to prepare and quite tasty. I have to admit that I did not use turmeric because I did not have any in the house, but I used curry instead and it is very tasty. I will try this again with the turmeric and who knows what other variations I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States