Simple Savory Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Smells great while cooking. Sauteed onion and garlic with the spices (totally forgot about the celery) and added 1/2 tsp curry powder and 1/2 tsp cumin with it. I actually ran out of carrots so I used frozen California mix minus the broccoli because I feel carrots and cauliflower and curry are heavenly. Added chicken stock (plus a bit extra by accident) and red quinoa. Verdict? Not bad; I personally think there's room for more spice but that's just my palate! Kiddo liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My kids and I really liked this. I used water because I didn't have vegetable stock and needed to add more salt. I also used fresh basil instead of dried, so I tripled the amount called for. I toasted the quinoa in a pan over medium heat for a few minutes before adding it to the sauteed veggies, than I added the spices and stirred before adding the water. It took around 30 minutes to absorb the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Sorry, didn't enjoy this recipe. I cooked it on medium heat and it was still crunchy, so I then added another cup of vegetable broth and lowered the stove even more, still ended a bit crunchy. What I was read elsewhere is that you should let the broth come to a boil first, then add the quinoa. And everywhere I looked had more water or broth ratio to quinoa than this recipe, and I agree, it's not enough broth. I'm willing to try it one more time, with a few tweaks since it has a lot of promise, but was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We really enjoyed this. Instead of celery and carrots i substituted frozen carrots and peas. I put them with the onion still frozen. They thawed nicely while the onion cooked. I used chicken broth and lemon juice because I didn't have vegetable broth or a lime. It's hard to get the family to try some of the healthier options like quinoa. This is a great way to get them started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
simple and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viktoriia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I modified the recipe to give it a bit more kick and freshness. I added a couple of Thai bird chiles, fresh (not dried) basil, lemon juice (rather than lime), and like others have noted, I used a mandolin to julienne the carrots. This is a simple, easy recipe with great flavor. i'm going to add pine nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
So far, I have not been a huge fan of quinoa, but this recipe might change my mind. It is easy to prepare and quite tasty. I have to admit that I did not use turmeric because I did not have any in the house, but I used curry instead and it is very tasty. I will try this again with the turmeric and who knows what other variations I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very flavorful dish that I whipped up at the last minute. I didn't have much quinoa left and was looking for a recipe that would work well as a side dish. I didn't have chicken broth, but used water and added 3/4 tsp salt. I also didn't have celery so left that out. It certainly didn't taste like it was missing anything. I also didn't have tumeric, but going off of suggestions from other reviewers, I added 1 part cumin to 2 parts curry powder. The flavors blended very well. I also might add that I agree that cutting the oil in half is about right. I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
OMG!!!! This was absolutely delicious! My first time making quinoa! I wanted something that will go great with grilled lemon pepper chicken and sautéed green beans, and this was perfect. Only change I made was omitting the lime juice, only because it tasted great as is. highly recommended:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
We love this recipe around my house! I just made it for the second time, I doubled the recipe, to be sure there'd be leftovers! Both times I've made this almost exactly to the recipe, so I don't really recommend any changes. The first time around I made it with beef bullion, dissolved in (water per the directions on the package)since that's all I had, and it turned out a bit too salty. This time I used beef bullion again (no other broth on hand)but used 3/4 of a cube in the same amount of water, and it was perfect. I used probably a little more veggies than the directions call for - extra celery, for sure, since I love it. My toddler loves this, I love it, and any guests we have over gobble it up, too, even those afraid of a big bowl of quinoa and veggies!! This is now a staple for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States