Simple Savory Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
At first I was not blown away by the flavor- which there is plenty of- but as I was eating this the symphony of flavors were playing on my palette and I realized I really liked it. I made double the recipe without doubling the oil. I used chicken bouillion instead of vegetable broth (that's just what I had on hand). Also for some reason I imagined the directions had said to finely julienne the carrots, so I shredded them in a food processor instead of slicing them. I didn't have lime juice either. Otherwise I kept to the directions and it turned out great. There were no leftovers. My family loved it and at least one person had extra helpings. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was good and I will make it again, but with less oil. I will put the vegetables in at the same time as the broth, quinoa and spices, so they aren't overcooked. I think it needs one more spice, I'm just not sure what that is. I will also use a bit more onion and a bit less lime juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Easy to make! If anything, the amount of turmeric and lime juice should be cut down, but otherwise you get used to the taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great meatless dish! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock, I added a pinch of cumin and just a pinch of turmeric, much better flavor. And forgot to add the lime and still I devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I cubed the carrots & actually liked the veggies on the softer side (in response to the reviewer who suggested not pre-sauteeing the vegetables). Level of turmeric was just right & the lime juice added a nice brightness right at the end. I'm hoping no one eats the leftovers so I can have them for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Doubled for dinner and there was none left! Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was really good. I used curry powder and a pinch of cumin; I don't know much about turmeric, so I just picked something I thought would go with the other ingredients. It made more than 3 servings, though. More like 6 or 7 for what my family eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Perfect! I doubled the recipe and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Nice quinoa recipe, very good with a subtle flavour, nothing too overpowering. I used organic red quinoa - it was a nice healthy and colourful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
If you want quick and easy, this is the me for you! Season to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States