Simple Savory Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Daniel loved it! Don't add too much salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
While I prefer to cook my pork roasts slowly in a smoker or charcoal grill, I use the oven in winter. To prevent the juices from being lost I first sear the meat all way around in a very hot iron pan before putting it in a glass or ceramic roasting dish - I never roast in metal pans (it's just a think I have about cooking in metal pans). Then I put on the seasonings (otherwise they will burn). I also stick some fresh sweet onion rings on top before putting it in the oven. They become sweet and succulent and add to the juices in the bottom of the pan. I use fresh thyme instead of the dried, but as I grow literally pounds of different herbs, I can dry my own, and I hate to waste them at the end of the season. Instead of regular thyme, try lemon-thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by williamC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Very nice herb flavor. Be careful not to use to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Ehh .. for me, I rub my pork loin with olive oil and then roll it in garlic powder mixed with smoked paprika as well as salt, pepper and thyme. I let this dry rub sit for at least 1 hour and let the pork come to room temperature. I find that for a tenderloin - roasting at preheated 400 degrees for 1/2 - 40 minutes hour produces a delicious roast. I also sometimes rub the pork with olive oil plus soy sauce before rolling in the dry rub, but then eliminate the salt. I sometimes add a little chicken broth to the pan along with some onions and butter to add aromatics to the roast during cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Delicious and super easy. I drizzled it with a tablespoon of olive oil before sprinkling the seasonings on it. At 145F, it was still too pink for pork IMO so I cooked it to 160. Served it sliced, ladled the pan drippings over it. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent combination of herbs. A trick my mother taught me for even more flavor ( instead of using a boneless roast) have the butcher cut the meat of the bone and tie it back on to the bone. Roast the loin for 20 minutes a pound at 350 ( or 325 for convection) until thermometer registers 145. Let roast rest for 20 minutes, then cut the twine and remove the loin from the bone to slice. The bone gives so much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fabulous! I've NEVER made any kind of roast in the oven before. Imagine my trepidation! But this was so easy and so tasty, I feel emboldened! I'm too lazy to throw spices in a bag and shake it all up; I just rubbed the spices right into the roast. You can't miss with this recipe. Try it. I'm tellin ya, I'm superwoman over here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
A real husband pleaser, even though I made a few "downgrade" substitutions in order to avoid buying new herbs/spices. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The flavors in the bottom of the pan were good; the meat was dry and tough, not 'melt in your mouth'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I just tried, it was great. Because I love garlic I pressed a little, and added to mix, then put into glad ware and left in frig while I was at work, about 5 hrs, it was tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States