Simple Savory Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Fabulous! I've NEVER made any kind of roast in the oven before. Imagine my trepidation! But this was so easy and so tasty, I feel emboldened! I'm too lazy to throw spices in a bag and shake it all up; I just rubbed the spices right into the roast. You can't miss with this recipe. Try it. I'm tellin ya, I'm superwoman over here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
A real husband pleaser, even though I made a few "downgrade" substitutions in order to avoid buying new herbs/spices. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The flavors in the bottom of the pan were good; the meat was dry and tough, not 'melt in your mouth'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I just tried, it was great. Because I love garlic I pressed a little, and added to mix, then put into glad ware and left in frig while I was at work, about 5 hrs, it was tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My secret for a perfect pork roast is to use an OVEN baking bag. You can use just about any of the spice combinations listed here, and the roast will always come out tender and juicy. You can use dried herbs because the moisture in the bag will reconstitute them. You put all of the spices into the bag, making sure the whole roast is covered. I like to poke fork holes all over the meat to absorb the flavored juices. Put the whole bag in a baking pan and tie off the neck. Poke a slit to release steam. Roast @350° for about an hour. Use thermometer to reach 175°. Take it out of bag and let it rest 10 minutes before slicing. Use juice in bag as a base for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
naples34101 has the right conception. You can either sear your meat first to lock in the juices, or high temp or broil outside. Fresh garlic in meat is always best, or substitute garlic powder instead of the salt version, salt is an addition that can be added after the fact according to one's taste. Also cornstarch as a gravy thickening gives a translucent and shiny appearance and consistency, much better for thin sauces. If not slow cooking in crock pot, always place meat (whatever kind) up out of juices by placing carrots, potatoes, celery or preferred veggies on bottom of pan for flavor of drippings, can also be pureed after to add to gravy making. DON'T cook meat in water or juices unless you like your meat basically boiled. Outside searing will ensure inside moisture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My tip for pork is to brine it overnight, stays extremely juicy and flavorful. I use a combination of kosher salt and brown sugar dissolved in boiling water. Cool it by adding ice. Add desired herbs, garlic, rosemary. Rinse the loin before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Not bad but needs an olive oil coating before adding the herbs. Also, those of you who complained that the meat was dry, you over-cooked the roast. The recipe correctly states to cook to 145 (not 160) degrees. When you let the meat rest for 10 minutes after cooking the temp will raise a bit and the meat juices will be re-absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
GREAT COMBO OF FLAVORS, SOME GOOD SUGGESTIONS ALSO, LIKE FOIL WRAPPING. BUT.... THE WAY THE DIRECTIONS ARE WRITTEN...IT SEEMS TO STATE THAT ONE SHOULD PLACE THE PORK WHILE IN THE ZIP-LOCK BAG IN THE ROASTING PAN TO ROAST !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I make a version of this but I mix the rosemary with dijon mustard and coat the pork roast before cooking. It keeps it moist and adds much more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States