Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I modified this recipe for a Soup Cookoff fundraiser--and won first place! I used cubed potatoes instead of the scalloped mix. To thicken, I mixed together several tablespoons of cornstarch with broth, and added to mixture. I used light cream instead of evaporated milk. I used half salmon/half smoked lox. Used frozen corn, and increased amount. Fresh dill. And also a dash of cayenne pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this last night with just a minor change as I already had leftover boiled potatoes. After cooking the onions with a little butter I added some flour to make a roux before adding the broth. I then added the cooked potatoes and two cans of corn along with a can of 2% evaporated milk, before adding the salmon and then seasoned with dill and pepper. I just had some today for lunch. Delicious! Thanks for the very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was the best chowder ever! So easy and very delicious! My husband doesn't usually like seafood chowder, in fact when he dished it up I noticed no salmon. When I asked him to try it, he did, reluctantly. He had three bowls and took some the following day to work! He said he couldn't wait for lunch because he kept thinking about that chowder. This definately a 5 star recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband the other night and we LOVED it!! Can't see, though how this could be 8 servings unless you serve in cups. It's more like 6 servings. Anyway, we think it would also be good with canned salmon or scallops or clams or any seafood. I'm going to experiment in the future. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I was actually really surprised by how much I liked this recipe! I've never tried to make a fish soup before and was very pleased with the results. Using the mix is a great idea, however, I think it does make the soup a bit too salty, I think next time I'll use less of it and more fresh herbs. Overall good though! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Using the packaged scalloped potatoes made the chowder look a bit 'cheap' so next time I'll use fresh cubed potatoes instead. Very tasty though! I upped the dill to 1 tsp, replaced the 1 cup milk with 1.5 cup fat free half & half, and added a dash of cayenne pepper for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Excellent! My 11year old, who "doesn't like fish!" ate most of it. My husband who does not like salmon, ate it, although asked if I could try it with smoked salmon (which he likes) next time. I loved it! I didn't have scalloped potato mix, used fresh potatoes and then used some corn starch and instant mashed potatoes. I'm going to try your original version next time. Thanks again for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Delicious! This dish always gets rave reviews when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
YUMMY!!! I read all the reviews first so I too ended up adding a bit of smoked salmon (since my husband smoked a batch over the weekend), I also added a quarter cup of potato flakes and instead of the packaged potoatos I cubed up some baby reds. Instead of the milk and evaporated milk I used the same amount of heavy cream for a good rich flavor. This was scrumptious! Even my picky kids ate it without complaint!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I think this is great!!! So easy and fast, wish all recipes could be so simple. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States