Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe is brilliant. It made for an easy weeknight meal and a great alterative to oven roasted salmon. I used turkey bacon and a whole can of evaporated skim milk instead of the milk/evaporated milk mix. I also added a 1/2 cup of diced carrots to add some color, fiber and vitamin A. In case anyone else was wondering, as I was, whether to use the powder season mix for the scalloped potatoes,the answer is YES. It thickens the chowder and adds a little salty/cheesy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Yummy and sssssooooo simple! Followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
WOW. This is by far the best soup I have ever made!! I was going to follow other suggestions to add flour because I like my soup thick, but forgot to add it. When the soup was done, it was SO thick and perfect, it didn't even need it!! This soup was so delicious, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
used too much salmon and it was really fishy tasting. Use less next time and it will probably be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
It was good, a little salty but I think that was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
A great way to use salmon. My 6yr old hates salmon and he ate 2 bowls. I will be keeping this one for sure. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Really good - the addition of the scalloped potato mix makes this recipe great! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I modified this recipe for a Soup Cookoff fundraiser--and won first place! I used cubed potatoes instead of the scalloped mix. To thicken, I mixed together several tablespoons of cornstarch with broth, and added to mixture. I used light cream instead of evaporated milk. I used half salmon/half smoked lox. Used frozen corn, and increased amount. Fresh dill. And also a dash of cayenne pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this last night with just a minor change as I already had leftover boiled potatoes. After cooking the onions with a little butter I added some flour to make a roux before adding the broth. I then added the cooked potatoes and two cans of corn along with a can of 2% evaporated milk, before adding the salmon and then seasoned with dill and pepper. I just had some today for lunch. Delicious! Thanks for the very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States