Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I would have sent a photo but it was all gone before I remembered you needed a picture. This is a wonderful, simple, and versatile recipe. I made only minor changes, at least I thought they were minor. I used homemade fish stock rather than chicken broth. I don’t know that this made a big difference but I used a halibut frame and the usual veggies, etc. to make the broth. This is something we keep in the freezer so if you don’t have it, no big deal. The other change was using fresh dill, as suggested by another reviewer. One final “change” might have been the salmon used. Being the “season” I bought fresh Copper River salmon. I suspect that any fresh salmon would be as good. I plan on trying it with farmed Atlantic salmon just to see how it is. I really think you could use almost any seafood for this but what a great way to use small salmon chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Loved it. I like dill, so added a touch more. Like others, I was doubtful about the packaged potatoes, but they work in this recipe. Makes it simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I altered this recipe a bit. I used leftover cooked potato cubes instead of scalloped potatoes, added 2 tbsp. of flour to thicken the soup slightly, frozen corn instead of canned, and I did not have evaporated milk so left that out too. It was very good, even my kids liked it. It's a great way to use up cooked salmon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
what else can I say but I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
WOW! I was very skeptical about this recipe. I’ve tried too many cream soup recipes in the past that just didn’t pan out. Seafood chowder has always been my favorite, so when I found this unique recipe, I was really hoping that it would be as fantastic as others said it was. This recipe didn’t let me down. It was outstanding. I added two extra strips of bacon simply because, well, it’s yummy. I also added the entire 12 ounce can of evaporated milk and then added some Idahoan flavored mashed potato flakes until the chowder was the thickness that I desired. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was so easy to do on a weeknight after work. Can compete with restaurant chowders. I was skeptical to use a packaged scallop mix, but it turned out great. The recipe does not make it entirely clear....but DO add the seasoning pack with the dried potatoes. My only suggestion is to use fresh dill and triple the amount. It gives the dish a great depth and flavor. My husband likes it even better the next day with a french bagette for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
It was good..I am not a big fish fan. Two of my three children liked it. I will try again with a different fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was so easy and really really fantastic. Great cold winter weeknight soup! The only size box of scalloped potatoes in my local store was a family size (around 8 oz), but I threw in all of the potatoes and 3/4 of the seasoning packet and the soup was delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
So good and so easy. I really like the idea of using the scalloped potato mix, a real time saver. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I cut the recipe in half & I used a piece & a half of leftover salmon (Alaska Salmon Bake with Pecan Crunch Coating...I figured the pecans would disappear among the potatoes in this soup & they did). I used real bacon bits instead of frying bacon but I did use some bacon drippings to saute the onions in (I don't use it very often so I keep the drippings in my fridge). The soup was kinda thick so I thinned it out some more w/ additional broth. I was going to toss the other half of the pkg of scalloped potatoes in the trash (was just a fluke they were in my pantry in the first place LOL) but we enjoyed this quick & easy soup so much that I saved them in a ziploc until we have leftover salmon again. I really like dill in my salmon chowders so I doubled the amount. Good soup, Chris Smith...we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States