Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I think this is great!!! So easy and fast, wish all recipes could be so simple. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was a big hit! Simple and delicious, hardy and warming on a cold fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe is amazing! My husband and I loved it. For a fish chowder, the taste is definitely not overwhelming. The mix of flavors is fantastic and I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riceville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Pretty good and quite easy to put together. I didn't realize that I didn't have any evaporated milk when I started to make this recipe, so I just used liquid nonfat coffee creamer instead. It did the trick. Also increased the dill as others suggested. Because I grow my own I used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I would have sent a photo but it was all gone before I remembered you needed a picture. This is a wonderful, simple, and versatile recipe. I made only minor changes, at least I thought they were minor. I used homemade fish stock rather than chicken broth. I don’t know that this made a big difference but I used a halibut frame and the usual veggies, etc. to make the broth. This is something we keep in the freezer so if you don’t have it, no big deal. The other change was using fresh dill, as suggested by another reviewer. One final “change” might have been the salmon used. Being the “season” I bought fresh Copper River salmon. I suspect that any fresh salmon would be as good. I plan on trying it with farmed Atlantic salmon just to see how it is. I really think you could use almost any seafood for this but what a great way to use small salmon chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Loved it. I like dill, so added a touch more. Like others, I was doubtful about the packaged potatoes, but they work in this recipe. Makes it simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I altered this recipe a bit. I used leftover cooked potato cubes instead of scalloped potatoes, added 2 tbsp. of flour to thicken the soup slightly, frozen corn instead of canned, and I did not have evaporated milk so left that out too. It was very good, even my kids liked it. It's a great way to use up cooked salmon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
what else can I say but I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
WOW! I was very skeptical about this recipe. I’ve tried too many cream soup recipes in the past that just didn’t pan out. Seafood chowder has always been my favorite, so when I found this unique recipe, I was really hoping that it would be as fantastic as others said it was. This recipe didn’t let me down. It was outstanding. I added two extra strips of bacon simply because, well, it’s yummy. I also added the entire 12 ounce can of evaporated milk and then added some Idahoan flavored mashed potato flakes until the chowder was the thickness that I desired. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was so easy to do on a weeknight after work. Can compete with restaurant chowders. I was skeptical to use a packaged scallop mix, but it turned out great. The recipe does not make it entirely clear....but DO add the seasoning pack with the dried potatoes. My only suggestion is to use fresh dill and triple the amount. It gives the dish a great depth and flavor. My husband likes it even better the next day with a french bagette for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoxerMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States