Simple Salmon Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
As a lot of us do, I also altered the recipe. I didn't have green onions, but used yellow ones instead. As well, I used fresh potatoes, omitted the corn and also substituted cream rather than the evaporated milk. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Really good soup! Kids loved it. Added a little more bacon, next time I will add another green onion and some celery. We ate it with garlic bread, and I added tobasco to mine to turn up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was great! I used smoked salmon and loved it. Great idea with the potato mix - thick and yummy AND easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I deviated a bit, adding zuchini, cayenne and omitting bacon and the mix. My kids even loved it, a first for them eating fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Simple and absolutely delicious! I didn't have potatoes, and I added a package of frozen spinach and used light coconut milk instead of milk, and it STILL turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My husband loved this... and we just returned from the Canadian Maritimes so we had lots of comparisons. I used a combination of salmon and tilapia and the results were delicious. I also left out the bacon and used 2 tablespoons of butter instead. I'm always looking for ways to lighten up recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SVENSKAFLIKA
Home Town: North Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Not like Mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great recipe! I followed as directed but used one can of canned salmon as that is what I had, and it was fantastic. I am making it again and doing ham this time, instead of salmon. Just a wonderfully easy and very yummy soup. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mdeseive
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this a few months ago and it turned out very good, I did omit the corn and used red potatoes instead. I also added carrots to give it more color. All in all the original recipe will do fine, I just used what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdeseive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Im not a fan of fish but my son loves it so we tried this recipe. It took exactly 45min from start to finish, guiding my 12yr old through the the whole cooking/prep process. He was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dewdrops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States