Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
definitely an addictive snack! very easy and healthy. i had to cook mine a bit longer but they were still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I followed recipe exact. not sure what I expected. I read all the reviews. This was not to my liking. I love chickpeas and have decided to leave them alone. Some were krispy, some were not- I stirred them along the way, though. They turned out kinda dry and chewy in the center. Flavor tasted better before they were roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The seasoning was great! My b-f likes them like this. I like them crunchy so if I make them for myself I will up the temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Made these exactly as stated. The flavor was good but they did need more salt. You wouldn't want to get to close to anyone after eating these however because I'm sure I had some major dragon breath! I would bake at 450 for 40 min. if I made these again as a different recipe called for. The reviews for those said they got crunchy and these did not, they were chewy and I threw them out. I might try these again, but at higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I really wanted to like these because I love chickpeas, but I just didn't. I wouldn't say they were gross because they didn't really taste like much of anything. I think some garlic, a touch of sweetness (brown sugar maybe) and cooking at a higher temp (to make them crispier - mine were quite soft in the middle) could greatly improve these. I may try again and make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
i love this snack - my daughter cooks her chickpeas from scratch - mine are canned - i freeze mine from the can and take them from freezer to oven hers are really crunchy mine are are a little softer which i really like!! we figured the difference is in canned - anyway this is a delicious snack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
awesome + crunchy... made my house smell like an indian restaurant! Only wish I made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I normally love chickpeas, but didn't care for this at all. I think the cumin overwhelmed the other spices. It was also difficult to roast them uniformly. Some of the chickpeas had crunchy outer shells and nothing inside and the others were more chewable, but not a pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The flavor was really good, although I did have to add a little more salt. I agree with other reviewers though- I had to cook mine for over an hour (1 hr 15 minutes) and some were still soft in the center. I'll make them again, with some changes. I only used 1 TBS of oil , 2 would have been way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Sorry, won't be making these again. They never did get as crunchy as I was expecting. I didn't like the texture at all. I was also iffy on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States