Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were nice, but 2 Tbsp of olive oil is way too much, I used only 1/2 Tbsp. I also roasted at 450 degrees for 40 minutes because this way it gets crunchy and not soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I've made these before so I knew what to expect and how to bake them properly. I baked these dry ON FOIL, until the last ten minutes, took them out and dumped them in a bowl and drizzled the EVOO over the hot chickpeas, then sprinkled with the spices and a little nutritional yeast over the top of the chickpeas, which gives it a little parmesan-cheesy kind of flavor which rocked with the spices that this recipe called for. I then baked them the remaining ten minutes. I took another reviewer's advice and baked them at 400* for 40 minutes and that was spot on. Perfectly crispy. I did give them a good shake with the pancake turner every ten minutes, like I do with the oyster cracker snacks, so they would cook evenly. I've completely cut out all processed snack foods and this was perfect for "that time of the month" when you need to have something salty but you don't want to rack up calories. And you know....my kids LOVED these! They almost remind me of Corn Nuts! EDITED: I highly recommend using organic chickpeas if you can. I've used store brand in this recipe and for me, it's just not as good. Also, be sure you drain your chickpeas VERY well. That affects the crispiness quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I make these all the time. I usually toss the chickpeas with just olive oil, salt, and some crushed rosemary. Any seasoning you like will do. For those who didn't like the texture- they are best when they are VERY crunchy (not slightly crunchy) and practically popping off of the baking sheet. They come out like corn nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Here is an interesting discovery. I have made these twice. The first time, I used canned chickpeas and followed the recipe, including the baking time, and using a plain baking sheet. They were not nice and crunchy like I expected them to be, nor as flavorful. The second time, I used peas I had cooked from dry and stored in the freezer. They went straight from the freezer into the oven, on a foil lined sheet this time, and were perfectly crisp and crunchy, and much spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful
Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Chickpeas - who knew?!? They're great! I was expecting to have my socks knocked off with spiciness - not so. They're prefectly flavored. I baked mine at 400* for about 40 minutes and they're crisp all the way through. I just wish I had another can of chickpeas on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Simple Roasted Chickpea Haiku: "First time I made these, a 1-star burnt, yucky mess. This time, got it right!" I was on a mission to recreate the most sublime salad that I'd ever tasted, made up of blackened salmon, roasted chickpeas, golden raisins, and balsamic vinaigrette. Made this chickpea recipe, exactly as written, and ended up w/ black pebbles and a lingering burnt aroma. Did a little reading up on roasting chickpeas, and I kept the recipe exactly the same, except I "dry roasted" the chickpeas (no oil, no seasoning) at 425 for 20 min. shaking the pan several times in between. Pulled them out and tossed them w/ the oil (only 2 tsp.) and the same ratio of spices, and returned them to the oven for another 15 min. to perfect little crunchy balls of awesome. I haven't tried them since they've come to room temp, but I'm hoping that they'll still be a good, nicely-seasoned snack that retains some of its crunch. Oh, and I had to give this 3 stars b/c in all fairness, it was awful when I followed the recipe as written, but significantly better w/ my baking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is a common snack in Ethiopia, just roasted with oil and topped with salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
The ones that were done to the *correct* doneness were excellent! However, it was difficult finding that point. My chickpeas began popping (and making a smoky mess of our oven) almost immediately after I put them in the oven. I liked the flavor, but will have to play around w/bake time/temp to make them work. THanks for a nice light crunchy snack recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Easy to prepare. Good, fun, crunchy snack. My husband loved it -- wants to have it for all his football TV watching this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These had very good flavor but I was expecting them to be really crunchy, like a soy nut. Though I was slightly disappointed in the texture they were a great snack and we ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States