Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I had the same trouble as many reviewers, I had inconsistent results with crispiness. I used some of the suggested tips - less oil and 400 degrees - but when some started to burn, others were not done to crisp. However, I loved them. I found them very addicting. I do wish the texture was more consistent, but the flavor was great. I left out the chili powder because all of the other spices are what I use in hummus, so that made sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Like the flavor, but I had a really hard time getting them to that "just right" stage of crunchy without being either hard as a rock or sort of rubbery instead of crunchy. After the suggested cooking time, some were good and some weren't and I didn't feel like picking them out of the batch as they hit that "just right" stage. I won't make this again...I'll just enjoy garbanzos in other ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
liked the flavor, but not crispy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really, really wanted to love these, but I ended up being less than impressed. Most of the seasonings fell off during roasting and the chickpeas got an almost powdery texture to them instead of getting crunchy. What I ended up with was very dry and tasted only of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I like these! Some came out crunchier than others, but the flavor is really nice. I'm a fiend for salty snacks, so I added a bit more sea salt after they came out of the oven. Omitted the cumin because I didn't have any on hand. Yum! I'd make these again. Also, it's a pain to scrub even nonstick baking sheets after making these, so I roast them on top of foil now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Loved these!! Cispy and yummy....turning and shaking the pan while cooking is important...I also took a tip from my girl Tat2whttrsh and made sure that the drained and rinsed chick peas are totally DRY before coating them in the oil/spice mixture. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were good! Nice flavor to them and did get a crunch. Def a recipe to keep for munchies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
did not turn out crispy enough for my liking. The longer they were stored the soggier they became. Tasted ok...if I can figure out how to get them to become crispy and stay that way they would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I prepared and cooked these as directed. They were edible but just barely. After the 45 minutes, they were soft, after 1 hour they were not soft but certainly not remotely crisp, and after 1.5 hours were kind of crisp. Seasonings were OK, but definitely these are definitely not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
No disrespect, but these had a gross texture. As other reviews said, they were chewy and mushy in the middle. I so wanted to love these but the only thing they had going for them was the seasoning. I had anticipated a new addictive snack and bought extra cans so I could make a nutritious stockpile. Bummer man. I believe with some modifications, it could have potential to be good, but I shall waste no more time trying! I'm saving my chic peas for my tried, true and always super delicious hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States