Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were good! Nice flavor to them and did get a crunch. Def a recipe to keep for munchies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
did not turn out crispy enough for my liking. The longer they were stored the soggier they became. Tasted ok...if I can figure out how to get them to become crispy and stay that way they would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I prepared and cooked these as directed. They were edible but just barely. After the 45 minutes, they were soft, after 1 hour they were not soft but certainly not remotely crisp, and after 1.5 hours were kind of crisp. Seasonings were OK, but definitely these are definitely not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
No disrespect, but these had a gross texture. As other reviews said, they were chewy and mushy in the middle. I so wanted to love these but the only thing they had going for them was the seasoning. I had anticipated a new addictive snack and bought extra cans so I could make a nutritious stockpile. Bummer man. I believe with some modifications, it could have potential to be good, but I shall waste no more time trying! I'm saving my chic peas for my tried, true and always super delicious hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I've made these before so I knew what to expect and how to bake them properly. I baked these dry ON FOIL, until the last ten minutes, took them out and dumped them in a bowl and drizzled the EVOO over the hot chickpeas, then sprinkled with the spices and a little nutritional yeast over the top of the chickpeas, which gives it a little parmesan-cheesy kind of flavor which rocked with the spices that this recipe called for. I then baked them the remaining ten minutes. I took another reviewer's advice and baked them at 400* for 40 minutes and that was spot on. Perfectly crispy. I did give them a good shake with the pancake turner every ten minutes, like I do with the oyster cracker snacks, so they would cook evenly. I've completely cut out all processed snack foods and this was perfect for "that time of the month" when you need to have something salty but you don't want to rack up calories. And you know....my kids LOVED these! They almost remind me of Corn Nuts! EDITED: I highly recommend using organic chickpeas if you can. I've used store brand in this recipe and for me, it's just not as good. Also, be sure you drain your chickpeas VERY well. That affects the crispiness quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
really tasty. I ate too many of them! I roasted and stirred them several times during the process and they came out great. The only change I would make is to cut back on the cumin a bit next time. Roasting it gives it a really earthy flavor and cumin is really earthy so it was a little much for me. I would add more salt. I tried to add it later, but it didn't stick very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Made with slightly less oil and without cumin since I was out of it. Substituted with other spices. I found they came out just right, crispy not dry. Used them on top of my dinner salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
The ones that were done to the *correct* doneness were excellent! However, it was difficult finding that point. My chickpeas began popping (and making a smoky mess of our oven) almost immediately after I put them in the oven. I liked the flavor, but will have to play around w/bake time/temp to make them work. THanks for a nice light crunchy snack recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really tasty to eat by the handful or to sprinkle on your salad. I also add some Lemon/Pepper seasoning salt to mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I can't give this a bad rating because I think I screwed up on how much oil I used. Not the fault of the author. I will try this again in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States