Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I thought these were delicious! They didn't get as crispy as I thought they would but they still had a delicious flavor and are a great healthy low cal snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Tastes great! I used less olive oil because I don't like them so greasy and put the oven on broil for the last 2 minutes so they were super crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Simple Roasted Chickpea Haiku: "First time I made these, a 1-star burnt, yucky mess. This time, got it right!" I was on a mission to recreate the most sublime salad that I'd ever tasted, made up of blackened salmon, roasted chickpeas, golden raisins, and balsamic vinaigrette. Made this chickpea recipe, exactly as written, and ended up w/ black pebbles and a lingering burnt aroma. Did a little reading up on roasting chickpeas, and I kept the recipe exactly the same, except I "dry roasted" the chickpeas (no oil, no seasoning) at 425 for 20 min. shaking the pan several times in between. Pulled them out and tossed them w/ the oil (only 2 tsp.) and the same ratio of spices, and returned them to the oven for another 15 min. to perfect little crunchy balls of awesome. I haven't tried them since they've come to room temp, but I'm hoping that they'll still be a good, nicely-seasoned snack that retains some of its crunch. Oh, and I had to give this 3 stars b/c in all fairness, it was awful when I followed the recipe as written, but significantly better w/ my baking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I only put half the cumin and it was still very spicy for me. Maybe it just isn't for me. You might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Needs more seasoning! I will make again, but I need to adjust my time, cause mine came out too dried up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Yummy! A great crunchy snack! I only used about 1/2 tablespoon olive oil & roasted them at 425 for 40 minutes, which was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very tasty snack! I omitted the red pepper because I thought the chili would make it hot enough but it doesn't at all, so next time I will try a dash of cayenne since my family doesn't care for the flakes. I also read reviews and blotted the chickpeas with paper towels after rinsing, and used only 1/2 TBsp oil. I put parchment paper on a cookie sheet and roasted at 400 F for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. I like it crispy on the outside but not too hard and crunchy on the inside because I don't want to break my teeth and I prefer the contrasting texture, so this was just right in timing. Thanks. I will make again soon as I can't stop eating it. This small amount will disappear in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
400 for 40 minutes worked good for me. I also baked them on a layer of parchment paper. I find this makes them less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
the way mine turned out should be 3 star, but that was really my own fault. I read some of the reviews first and I turned the oven up to 400, baked for 40 mins, turned oven off, then left it sitting in the oven for 5 mins. For the ones that didn't get too crisped up, they were good in taste. I am giving this a 4 star, for when I make this again, and maybe only bake for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Fantastic! Great flavor and texture, and gotta love the healthiness of this snack! I did rinse and dry the chickpeas well before adding to the spices and oil My oven seemed hot, so I was took them out them at 35-40 minutes, but did shake them about halfway through, and had no problems. Very more-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States