Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
these were just ok. both my husband and nephew ate a few of them and thensaid they didn"t really like them. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
so i just made these (twice). I used two cans of chickpeas, drained, rinsed, and COMPLETELY DRIED before lining cookie sheet with foil. Baked at 400 degrees, shaking every 10 mins (4 times). Some were crunchy, some were soft. so i bumped it up to 425, shaking 10 mins (2 more times) really watching because it was starting to brown. now they're crispy, crunchy, and awesome! (i also reseasoned half way thru)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made this recipe to the "T" and hubby LOVED it! He said was a little crunchy, but, it was gone the next AM. I tried the second time and used 1/3 ranch powder-WOWZAS. I watched it more closely so that they weren't so dry. But, these were amazing! He prefers original recipe, still. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These turnes out soft and had to eat the bland chickpeas with a spoon. Bake longer if you want to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are great. Go ahead and double the recipe if you're making them for a party because they don't last! I line the baking pan with foil for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm eating these now... I agree with the poster below about the oil amount, 2 TB is too much. I found a drizzle was more than enough to coat 2 cans of rinsed, drained and towel dried beans. Cooking time was too much in my oven, but I highly recommend keepin an eye on these... they go from perfect to charred right quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I had the same trouble as many reviewers, I had inconsistent results with crispiness. I used some of the suggested tips - less oil and 400 degrees - but when some started to burn, others were not done to crisp. However, I loved them. I found them very addicting. I do wish the texture was more consistent, but the flavor was great. I left out the chili powder because all of the other spices are what I use in hummus, so that made sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Like the flavor, but I had a really hard time getting them to that "just right" stage of crunchy without being either hard as a rock or sort of rubbery instead of crunchy. After the suggested cooking time, some were good and some weren't and I didn't feel like picking them out of the batch as they hit that "just right" stage. I won't make this again...I'll just enjoy garbanzos in other ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
liked the flavor, but not crispy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really, really wanted to love these, but I ended up being less than impressed. Most of the seasonings fell off during roasting and the chickpeas got an almost powdery texture to them instead of getting crunchy. What I ended up with was very dry and tasted only of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States