Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Huge hit! Three cans of beans per cookie sheet. I let beans sit on a towel for at least twenty minutes and patting to help dry and remove loose husk. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes shaking cookie sheet every ten minutes to evenly cook. Turn oven to 400 . Remove from oven coat lightly with oil and seasonings of choice. Return to oven for two more ten minute sessions and remove from oven and let sit for five minutes. Read the can for info on protein and fiber!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I used dry chickpeas -- not out of the can, then soaked them overnight then roasted at 450 degrees for about 35 minutes before putting the spices on and baking for about 5 more minutes. Much of these techniques are copied from what earlier reviewers had mentioned. I'll just add that if you bake them too long, they start popping like popcorn and you'll find them on the bottom of you stove. You can put pretty much any kind of spice you want on them, so at that point you're just experimenting and adding the spices you personally like. Very, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I doubled this recipe & instead of using a can of chick peas. I boiled dry chick peas & dried them. I was snacking on them just like that & really enjoying them. I cooked these exactly as written & they were crunchy how a lot of people wanted. I really didnt like them with the seasoning or crunchy. Im missing my raw cooked chick peas :-( Hopefully my husband likes them roasted, cause he wouldnt touch them raw cooked. I think these would be really good with wasabi powder, but not roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty yummy. I cut down to 1 tbsp of olive oil and cooked on 400 for 40 min after reading several reviews which seemed just right. Great healthy snack food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are delicious!!!! I doubled the recipe and followed one of the reviewer's changes and roasted at 400 for 40 minutes. I used lemon-infused olive oil which complemented the favors perfectly. Excellent snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
They were good. Next time I'll cook at hotter temp that way they are a little more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
for the most part I followed the recipe as is and the only change I made was I dabbed the beans with a paper towel to get all the moisture off so I can get the crunchy texture. They were yummy when they came right of the oven but the next morning it got soggy and not too tasty. I had them out on the pan and did not cover them up so moisture was not an issue. I tried baking them again and they tasted dried out although it got a nice golden color on them. They are not tasty enough to eat. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I roasted on 425. Shook pan regularly. Didn't like the Seasoning very much. Maybe ranch powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I followed the instructions of another reviewer and roasted them alone at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then tossed them with the olive oil and seasonings and roasted for another 15 minutes. They are really good - probably another 5-7 minutes at the end would have made them crunchier. I left out the crushed red pepper because I am not a fan of spicy hot. I added a bit of paprika and seasoning salt instead and they were great. I'm wondering how they would taste with just cinnamon sugar???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Caution: using too much oil prevents crisping! Beans will end up soggy if there is too much liquid to solid ratio, regardless of how long you cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States