Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't have any cumin, so I used about 1/4T each of cayenne pepper and curry powder, plus a little extra garlic powder and chili powder. These turned out pretty spicy this way. Some of the chick peas are really crispy while others are very soft in the middle, but they're still good. I will make these again on a better cookie sheet and see if that helps at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I love these things as written, but I taste them at the end, and usually add more salt. They're also excellent with any combo of seasonings you like, I usually use dried Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I'm so happy to have a new snack to make the family on weekends. I used rosemary as well but next time I will make a hotter version with more red and chili peppers, maybe even a dash ot hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I did as others suggested and raised the temperature. All that came of this for me was burned seasoning that had fallen off the chickpeas. I took them out so my smoke alarm would stop going off. They were soggy and I had to throw them out. Bad technique on my part I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Following some of the reviewers suggestions, I roasted these at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, and it was a bit much as it burned some of the spice. I like these, and they are a great dairy-free, nut-free snack for my little one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A really delicious, healthy snack. I'm giving it 4 stars because the cooking time is WAY OFF. I had mine in the oven for at least an hour and a half. These will get very crunchy, like a soy nut, if you let them, so don't rush it... if it's still soft in the center, return it to the oven. I boiled my own chickpeas, didn't use canned. I didn't use any oil, and I used a spice mix. It will be fun to experiment with different spice variations. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were great. I used a premixed seasoning which incorporated all the spices listed in the recipe. I did end up baking them a little longer then the recipe stated. These remind me of a mexican snack called havas that I used to buy at a mexican grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and baking time as stated which only proved that my oven must be slow. They weren't as crispy as I had hoped for. I also gave them a good dose of garlic salt at the end to enhance the flavor. Might try them again however, baked at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did not have olive oil..I'm using canola oil..after rinsing the ck peas. placed them in a zip lock bag and place all of the ingredients in the bag/made sure all peas were coated...and I'm baking them now. The aroma is fabulous..can't wait to try them. Easy cappesy...will rate in 45 minutes/ma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very good. I've also seen a sweet version that can be made with sugar and cinnamon. Glad to see that you can use canned, I made mine with dried chickpeas that were soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States