Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TCab13
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I bought fresh already cooked chickpeas from the Farmer's Market this morning. Then used 1tbsp olive oil and 2 teaspoons of Cajun spice mixed together. Baked at 400 in my toaster oven for 50 minutes, turning every 10-15 minutes. Tasty. Will try again. Maybe bake another 10 to really get them crispy and crunchy. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCab13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
i think i need to stick with using chickpeas for hummus since the effort i had to put into this was not worth the reward.. i'll leave making snacks like these to the experts at the health food stores.. even though i checked the chickpeas often (which i don't like to do because the temp drops every time you open the oven) i still almost burnt them.. i was worried about this tasting like boiled peanuts (which i don't like) so i baked them first and then oiled/seasoned with 5-10 min's to go.. i felt like something was missing when i first tried them so i added some lime juice.. then some Frank's hot sauce.. either way, i won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I was expecting these to be tastier. Love the texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love them! I made it the same as the recipe as far as the spices go. The only difference is that I started from hard beans. I also made a second batch with ranch seasoning and it wasn't even as good as this recipe. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I like the concept for sure. I think the amount of baking time is too long for my oven. Mine came out tasting like corn nuts. I would make this again but I would change up the spices to find something more suitable for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
for me I follow the recipe and after I took them out of the oven they was crunchy and got soft like they was stale. the spice wasn't any ting to write home about. I could see using ranch packet sprinkled on them, season salt may be. I will try again sometime. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I did everything as mentioned, but cooked at 400 for 40 minutes on foil and flipping them every ten minutes. These are absolutely amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Made these for book club meeting and they were a real hit! I did make several mods though based on several of the reviews and some other versions of the recipe I read. First I drained and rinsed the chickpeas and then left them out to dry on paper towels for about 30 minutes. Then I baked them on 400 for 15 minutes with no seasoning or oil. After first 15 I tossed them in the oil and spices (I added 1/4 tsp cayenne and some garlic salt too). Finally baked another 15 minutes. They were crunchy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Amazing! My sister and I tried it as a snack in the evening and we loved it! I would put in a little more chili next time to have it nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haaleybeech
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
These are FANTASTIC! I used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper (because I didn't have any) and it gives it a little spice and it's really good! I recommend these for those people who crave fries or chips at night, since they're so similar. I had to keep them in the oven for a little more time because they weren't all crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States