Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I doubled this recipe & instead of using a can of chick peas. I boiled dry chick peas & dried them. I was snacking on them just like that & really enjoying them. I cooked these exactly as written & they were crunchy how a lot of people wanted. I really didnt like them with the seasoning or crunchy. Im missing my raw cooked chick peas :-( Hopefully my husband likes them roasted, cause he wouldnt touch them raw cooked. I think these would be really good with wasabi powder, but not roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty yummy. I cut down to 1 tbsp of olive oil and cooked on 400 for 40 min after reading several reviews which seemed just right. Great healthy snack food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are delicious!!!! I doubled the recipe and followed one of the reviewer's changes and roasted at 400 for 40 minutes. I used lemon-infused olive oil which complemented the favors perfectly. Excellent snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
They were good. Next time I'll cook at hotter temp that way they are a little more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
for the most part I followed the recipe as is and the only change I made was I dabbed the beans with a paper towel to get all the moisture off so I can get the crunchy texture. They were yummy when they came right of the oven but the next morning it got soggy and not too tasty. I had them out on the pan and did not cover them up so moisture was not an issue. I tried baking them again and they tasted dried out although it got a nice golden color on them. They are not tasty enough to eat. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I roasted on 425. Shook pan regularly. Didn't like the Seasoning very much. Maybe ranch powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I followed the instructions of another reviewer and roasted them alone at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then tossed them with the olive oil and seasonings and roasted for another 15 minutes. They are really good - probably another 5-7 minutes at the end would have made them crunchier. I left out the crushed red pepper because I am not a fan of spicy hot. I added a bit of paprika and seasoning salt instead and they were great. I'm wondering how they would taste with just cinnamon sugar???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Caution: using too much oil prevents crisping! Beans will end up soggy if there is too much liquid to solid ratio, regardless of how long you cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
i really like these, i didnt have the garlic or chili powder unfortunately so i just used cayenne, cumin and salt. i also only used a little less than 1 tbsp since 2 is far too much. cooked them on 425 for 40 min then turned it up to 450 for another 10 min. they turned out crispy and yummy but next time ill cook on 450 for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I've made these before--I have photographic proof--but I never reviewed them. I vaguely remember I did have some trouble with them before, as it took them forever to roast and started to burn before they were completely crispy. So, I read through some of the top reviews before attempting this again and made sure my chickpeas were as rinsed and dried as I could possibly make them (rinsed and left in colander for about 1/2 hour, then spread out on a paper towel covered plate for at least another half hour. I believe I may try the suggestion to use cooked from dried and then frozen beans next time-this time, I used canned chickpeas. I then put them in the oven at 400 degrees without putting the olive oil and spices on them, shaking every 10 minutes, for a total of 40 minutes. Then I took them out, drizzled olive oil--about a tablespoon, max--on the chickpeas, then baked for another 10 minutes, shook them, checked them, and baked another 10 more. I might try 450 next time and keep checking them, as most of the chickpeas are crisp, but there are a few that still aren't quite as crispy as I like. However, they didn't burn, and they are pretty tasty--maybe just a tad more salt or garlic powder. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States