Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I normally love chickpeas, but didn't care for this at all. I think the cumin overwhelmed the other spices. It was also difficult to roast them uniformly. Some of the chickpeas had crunchy outer shells and nothing inside and the others were more chewable, but not a pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
The flavor was really good, although I did have to add a little more salt. I agree with other reviewers though- I had to cook mine for over an hour (1 hr 15 minutes) and some were still soft in the center. I'll make them again, with some changes. I only used 1 TBS of oil , 2 would have been way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Sorry, won't be making these again. They never did get as crunchy as I was expecting. I didn't like the texture at all. I was also iffy on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were really good, I too baked for about 1 hour to get more crunchy, I also added a bit more salt, way healthier than grabbing chips, and a filling snack, my boyfriend really liked them too. Im sure we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Deeelicious! If all else fails, you can substitute taco seasoning for the majority of the spices : Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieD
Home Town: Orono, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Here is an interesting discovery. I have made these twice. The first time, I used canned chickpeas and followed the recipe, including the baking time, and using a plain baking sheet. They were not nice and crunchy like I expected them to be, nor as flavorful. The second time, I used peas I had cooked from dry and stored in the freezer. They went straight from the freezer into the oven, on a foil lined sheet this time, and were perfectly crisp and crunchy, and much spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made these for a party using the spicing here, in a ziploc bag to mix; but I used the basic method from the Vanilla Sugar blog post of a similar recipe, that you drain, rinse, let air dry on a sheet, further dry with a paper towel and THEN spice and roast, to ensure better texture. The hostess wanted us to leave the rest with her which is always a good sign :-) Would be good in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Yum! This came out perfect for me! I first drained and dried them very well before mixing with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this little snack-- I did one tray at 45 minutes which resulted in a softer chickpea then did one tray at hour and a half which resulted in a more crunchy chick pea. Personally, I prefer the crunchy. This is a great snack and the spices can be adjusted to a personal preference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't have any cumin, so I used about 1/4T each of cayenne pepper and curry powder, plus a little extra garlic powder and chili powder. These turned out pretty spicy this way. Some of the chick peas are really crispy while others are very soft in the middle, but they're still good. I will make these again on a better cookie sheet and see if that helps at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States