Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
i really like these, i didnt have the garlic or chili powder unfortunately so i just used cayenne, cumin and salt. i also only used a little less than 1 tbsp since 2 is far too much. cooked them on 425 for 40 min then turned it up to 450 for another 10 min. they turned out crispy and yummy but next time ill cook on 450 for 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I've made these before--I have photographic proof--but I never reviewed them. I vaguely remember I did have some trouble with them before, as it took them forever to roast and started to burn before they were completely crispy. So, I read through some of the top reviews before attempting this again and made sure my chickpeas were as rinsed and dried as I could possibly make them (rinsed and left in colander for about 1/2 hour, then spread out on a paper towel covered plate for at least another half hour. I believe I may try the suggestion to use cooked from dried and then frozen beans next time-this time, I used canned chickpeas. I then put them in the oven at 400 degrees without putting the olive oil and spices on them, shaking every 10 minutes, for a total of 40 minutes. Then I took them out, drizzled olive oil--about a tablespoon, max--on the chickpeas, then baked for another 10 minutes, shook them, checked them, and baked another 10 more. I might try 450 next time and keep checking them, as most of the chickpeas are crisp, but there are a few that still aren't quite as crispy as I like. However, they didn't burn, and they are pretty tasty--maybe just a tad more salt or garlic powder. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Armstrong Leahy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Amazing idea. Love the crunch. This is definitely my new replacement for potato chips. Me and my kids at an entire can the first day we made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
great healthy snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
A very healthy and tasty snack idea. You can play around with the spices to suit your preferences. I think next time I'll double the recipe. It makes so little for having to be in the oven for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
We needed some variety in our easy, healthy snack options, and these fit the bill. I had no problems in cooking, though I did dry beans with a towel before adding oil and seasonings and stirred often while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I love them, really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancygirl03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
The flavors were good and the crispy outside was good but the middle of them turned me off. I don't know what I was expecting but they were mealy and bone dry inside. That's a personal taste issue and has nothing to do with the recipe. It was interesting to try so thanks for the new experience. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great idea and delicious on top of healthy! Next time we prepare, we will try a hotter oven for shorter length of time. The smaller peas had the perfect crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHumes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States