Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Yum! This came out perfect for me! I first drained and dried them very well before mixing with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this little snack-- I did one tray at 45 minutes which resulted in a softer chickpea then did one tray at hour and a half which resulted in a more crunchy chick pea. Personally, I prefer the crunchy. This is a great snack and the spices can be adjusted to a personal preference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't have any cumin, so I used about 1/4T each of cayenne pepper and curry powder, plus a little extra garlic powder and chili powder. These turned out pretty spicy this way. Some of the chick peas are really crispy while others are very soft in the middle, but they're still good. I will make these again on a better cookie sheet and see if that helps at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I love these things as written, but I taste them at the end, and usually add more salt. They're also excellent with any combo of seasonings you like, I usually use dried Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I'm so happy to have a new snack to make the family on weekends. I used rosemary as well but next time I will make a hotter version with more red and chili peppers, maybe even a dash ot hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I did as others suggested and raised the temperature. All that came of this for me was burned seasoning that had fallen off the chickpeas. I took them out so my smoke alarm would stop going off. They were soggy and I had to throw them out. Bad technique on my part I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Following some of the reviewers suggestions, I roasted these at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, and it was a bit much as it burned some of the spice. I like these, and they are a great dairy-free, nut-free snack for my little one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
A really delicious, healthy snack. I'm giving it 4 stars because the cooking time is WAY OFF. I had mine in the oven for at least an hour and a half. These will get very crunchy, like a soy nut, if you let them, so don't rush it... if it's still soft in the center, return it to the oven. I boiled my own chickpeas, didn't use canned. I didn't use any oil, and I used a spice mix. It will be fun to experiment with different spice variations. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were great. I used a premixed seasoning which incorporated all the spices listed in the recipe. I did end up baking them a little longer then the recipe stated. These remind me of a mexican snack called havas that I used to buy at a mexican grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and baking time as stated which only proved that my oven must be slow. They weren't as crispy as I had hoped for. I also gave them a good dose of garlic salt at the end to enhance the flavor. Might try them again however, baked at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States