Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were really good, I too baked for about 1 hour to get more crunchy, I also added a bit more salt, way healthier than grabbing chips, and a filling snack, my boyfriend really liked them too. Im sure we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Deeelicious! If all else fails, you can substitute taco seasoning for the majority of the spices : Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieD
Home Town: Orono, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Here is an interesting discovery. I have made these twice. The first time, I used canned chickpeas and followed the recipe, including the baking time, and using a plain baking sheet. They were not nice and crunchy like I expected them to be, nor as flavorful. The second time, I used peas I had cooked from dry and stored in the freezer. They went straight from the freezer into the oven, on a foil lined sheet this time, and were perfectly crisp and crunchy, and much spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made these for a party using the spicing here, in a ziploc bag to mix; but I used the basic method from the Vanilla Sugar blog post of a similar recipe, that you drain, rinse, let air dry on a sheet, further dry with a paper towel and THEN spice and roast, to ensure better texture. The hostess wanted us to leave the rest with her which is always a good sign :-) Would be good in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Yum! This came out perfect for me! I first drained and dried them very well before mixing with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this little snack-- I did one tray at 45 minutes which resulted in a softer chickpea then did one tray at hour and a half which resulted in a more crunchy chick pea. Personally, I prefer the crunchy. This is a great snack and the spices can be adjusted to a personal preference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I didn't have any cumin, so I used about 1/4T each of cayenne pepper and curry powder, plus a little extra garlic powder and chili powder. These turned out pretty spicy this way. Some of the chick peas are really crispy while others are very soft in the middle, but they're still good. I will make these again on a better cookie sheet and see if that helps at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I love these things as written, but I taste them at the end, and usually add more salt. They're also excellent with any combo of seasonings you like, I usually use dried Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I'm so happy to have a new snack to make the family on weekends. I used rosemary as well but next time I will make a hotter version with more red and chili peppers, maybe even a dash ot hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I did as others suggested and raised the temperature. All that came of this for me was burned seasoning that had fallen off the chickpeas. I took them out so my smoke alarm would stop going off. They were soggy and I had to throw them out. Bad technique on my part I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States