Simple Ranch Chicken Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very "simple", plus it's a great base for whatever add-in's you like or have on hand! I opted to use penne pasta along with black olives. I lightened up the Ranch dressing by using light sour cream, Hellman's light mayo and light buttermilk. I had some leftover bacon that I crumbled and threw in along with some light shredded cheddar cheeese. I just couldn't see using canned chicken so this was a great opportunity to use up some leftover grilled BBQ chicken. I topped this with some chopped green onion and a dash or two of paprika - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The best thing I can say about this recipe is that it doesn't make a lot. Both my husband and I thought it tased odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I thought the recipe 'as-is' was too salty. I will use this is a base recipe next time. I will omit the celery and olives, add a chopped onion and maybe a cup of frozen peas, plus use only half the ranch seasoning pack and up the milk to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I do not care for olives, so i left them. Do not buy, can chicken chunks,so i cooked and cut my own.It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe just really didn't work for me. 4 servings didn't seem like enough, so I did double the recipe. I ended up using two cooked chicken breasts and cut those up, because there was no way I was going to use canned chicken. I used lite mayo and sour cream, which I do in all recipes with them. The problem I have is the ranch powder seemed like a lot and it made it really salty. The ranch powder at first seemed over powering but blended in after the paprika. However, I didn't understand the amount of paprika but used about 3/4 suggested. Once it gets into the pasta it turns it an orangy color. It makes it difficult to tell what kind of pasta salad it is. I also thought it was an awful lot of green olives and was uncertain how well the green olives will go over either with anyone who eats it. I refridgerated it as suggested and the green olives were so tart and strong tasting in the salad it made it near inedible. Not sure what I could have done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I am always looking for a great way to use chicken and this was a hit for my family. I followed the recipe(omitting the celery) to the letter. I will keep this one handy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Bohemian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
A quick throw-together. This recipe was ok and I would probably make again for a quick side dish. I skipped the canned chicken and olives because this recipe does not need more saltiness. I substituted thinly sliced carrots which I par boiled with the pasta for the last 2 minutes of boiling. I doubled the recipe but not the ranch dressing and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Was well received but no one really commented on it. I doubled the recipe but only used a packet and a half of the ranch. Definitely needs to be made in advance, flavor was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Nice version of the usual Macaroni Salad - although I used farfalle pasta. I just used bottled ranch dressing and omitted the mayo...also a little of the liquid from the olives added to that special taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wasn't crazy about the flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States