Simple Pouch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This recipe is so easy and good. My family loves it. I also add cheese, diced onion and even have put a small piece of bacon on the top. I also spray the foil with pam....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I have made this for years - on the grill! It's such an easy way to make potatoes while the meat is grilling. Add sliced onions! Cook the packet until the potatoes are fork-tender, flipping them over once in awhile (if the foil packet is super-tight) to be sure they are getting evenly done. I wouldn't use oregano, but only because I don't care for oregano. Garlic/salt/pepper/butter is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Great recipe that's low in fat! I did mine on the grill. I sprayed the bottom of a foil packet with Pam to prevent the potatoes from sticking. I left out the oregano (personal preference) and added some vidalia onion. I used minced garlic vs. garlic powder. There's nothing simpler and these go great with BBQ chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
A favorite in my family! I do these a little different, I slice the potatoes into large slices, place a thin slice of onion in between each slice with a thin pat of butter, then I salt & pepper the entire thing. Try a splash of Frank's Red Hot over the top - they're DELICIOUS!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
we've been doing this on the grill for years--a couple of minutes in the microwave with the potatoes before you put them in the pouch saves a lot of time on the grill or in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Not only does the recipe sound good the reviews and tweaking make my mouth water. can't wait to make it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I have been making these for years...good for camping too. You can just throw them into the coals but dont forget to turn over. Sometimes I add smoke sausage and onions to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe- got me a good start. Rather than the low fat version, I drizzled EVOO, and a couple tbsp of butter were thrown in the pack. I added fresh basil, oregano, and garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very simple; I do recommend one revierer's suggestion to microwave the potatoes for 3 minutes prior to grilling; this will allow them to be cooked in the time it takes to grill your chicken, or whatever meat of preference. I did not use any butter at all and didn't miss it. Just used the potatoes, some chopped red onion, bacon bits, kosher salt, pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My family loves this recipe! We make it when whenever we go camping. I also add red and green peppers and sliced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States