Simple Pork and Cabbage Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My apologies, I always use thick cuts of pork, and didn’t specify that in the recipe here. Actually this recipe evolved using pork steaks (sliced pork butt/shoulder roast) which benefit from the longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe! So much so that I am actually commenting on it(this is the 1st time I have commented on allrecipes.com) :) It turned out so yummy. The only thing I changed is I added a bit of brown sugar (1/4tsp) and replaced a bit of Worcestershire for a bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was amazed at how delicious this was. I had sliced pork tenderloin that I browned first in olive oil then removed and followed recipe, but only cooked for 20 minutes. I then added back the pork, which was sliced very thin and cooked for an additional 5 minutes. I did add 1 heaping tsp of brown sugar in addition to the ingredients. After I thickened the gravy, I added a dash of apple cider vinegar to give it a hint of acidity and it made all the difference. This is a definite keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I changed this a bit--browned pork chops, removed from pan, placed wedges of cabbage in pan along with onions and apples, topped with pork chops, covered and let simmer for about 3 hours. During last hour, I sprinkled a package of onion soup mix over all and let simmer more until the soup mix had diffused into the dish. This turned out delicious. I didn't thicken the sauce that was left in the pan--just ended up spooning out the cabbage and pork chops onto plates and throwing the juices that were left away. Thickening the sauce just didn't sound good to me. But the pork chops were extremely tender and whole dish was really delicious. Thanks for an excellent starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I thought this was very good, I prepared it as written. I will definitely make again. I think it would also be good with bacon, but I would leave out the salt and worcestershire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have made a dish very similar to this and results were very good. I do think that browning for 10 minutes per side is too long though. The meat would be pretty close to being done after this amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Very good. I bought pork chops that were seasoned with cajun seasoning, so I didn't need to add the salt or pepper. Also I didn't add the flour, we used the "gravy" over some rice. Husband loved it, and never noticed that there were apples in the receipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very delicious recipe. My husband loved it! Although when I do make this again, I will season the chops and not cook them so long before placing everything else in the skillet. The chops came out a little dry, other than that though the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This so delicious and just what the Dr ordered for a coldy rainy day. I didn't change one thing except I had a pork loin boneless roast that I cut into 1 1/2 inch thick slices. Yum Yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Really good! I used apple juice instead of water, added caraway seeds, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and some nutmeg.Purple cabbage for color. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginprescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States