Simple Pork and Cabbage Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This recipe was good in a pinch, because I had cabbage to use up, but the flavor was rather bland for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was amazed at how delicious this was. I had sliced pork tenderloin that I browned first in olive oil then removed and followed recipe, but only cooked for 20 minutes. I then added back the pork, which was sliced very thin and cooked for an additional 5 minutes. I did add 1 heaping tsp of brown sugar in addition to the ingredients. After I thickened the gravy, I added a dash of apple cider vinegar to give it a hint of acidity and it made all the difference. This is a definite keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Really good! I used apple juice instead of water, added caraway seeds, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and some nutmeg.Purple cabbage for color. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinginprescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I thought this was very good, I prepared it as written. I will definitely make again. I think it would also be good with bacon, but I would leave out the salt and worcestershire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My apologies, I always use thick cuts of pork, and didn’t specify that in the recipe here. Actually this recipe evolved using pork steaks (sliced pork butt/shoulder roast) which benefit from the longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I changed this a bit--browned pork chops, removed from pan, placed wedges of cabbage in pan along with onions and apples, topped with pork chops, covered and let simmer for about 3 hours. During last hour, I sprinkled a package of onion soup mix over all and let simmer more until the soup mix had diffused into the dish. This turned out delicious. I didn't thicken the sauce that was left in the pan--just ended up spooning out the cabbage and pork chops onto plates and throwing the juices that were left away. Thickening the sauce just didn't sound good to me. But the pork chops were extremely tender and whole dish was really delicious. Thanks for an excellent starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I agree with the people who have said this recipe is tasteless. I followed it word for word and this meal had no taste. Also, cooking the pork chops for that long just makes them overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Even with the cajun seasoning as recommended it was still too sweet with only one apple. I also made sure to only brown it for a couple minutes on each side. But it did make the meat tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe! So much so that I am actually commenting on it(this is the 1st time I have commented on allrecipes.com) :) It turned out so yummy. The only thing I changed is I added a bit of brown sugar (1/4tsp) and replaced a bit of Worcestershire for a bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I added cajun seasoning instead of salt and pepper, which made for a really nice sweet-spicy taste. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States