Simple Pork Rib Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
My family and I love to BBQ on weekends. After experimenting on several recipes, I still haven't found the right one that I like, until I chanced upon this one. I really like its simplicity, no fancy stuff like in gourmet cooking. The best thing that I like is that it taste like the kind of food I order at Friday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This worked well for us EXCEPT for the salt which we cut in half. For a wet glaze, we add vinegar and extra red pepper to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Ok I am giving this recipe a second 5 star rating. Tried it this time with a half rack of spare ribs. Rubbed it on them and wrapped tight in foil like the Baby Back Ribs recipe and then the next day instead of baking, i put more charcoal on the grill then normal so it would burn longer, threw some soaked hickory chip on there and put the ribs on there raw. Left the air holes open about 1/4 of the way and didnt open the lid at all for about 45 mins, at that point i checked them and then opened the vents about half way. Basted with kraft honey bbq this time. awesome. the brown sugar and hickory sweet baby rays was a better sauce combo with this dry rubs flavor though, but this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I love pork ribs and was excited to use this rub. With three pounds of ribs, and using FOUR servings of the rub, I was blown away by how HOT this came out. Used 1/4 cup of cayenne and pepper with 1/2 cup brown sugar. What on earth did I do wrong? Had to cook the rub off in hot water on the stove before adding bbq sauce. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Delicious, quick, easy & doesn't burn (on the grill that is!) I used proportions suggested by one reviewer and still found the ribs to be way to spicy for me. But the rest of the family, who love spicy foods, loved it. They thought it bordered on too spicy so next time I will tone it down even more but this will definately be my go-to recipe for pork ribs from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe is so easy to prepare. Ingredients are simple and readily available in my kitchen. I prepared the rib in the oven at 350F and baked it for about 40 minutes. The meat was still juicy and the taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I haven't had ribs this good in a long time. I reduced cayenne and black pepper down to about one and a half table spoons. Only very slightly spicy. My wife and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
The flavor on this recipe was great, but WOW it was HOT! I am about average on resistance to heat and can handle some serious Thai, etc. I cut the ingredients in half as I only had (4) decent size pork ribs. I cooked on the grill on medium-high heat and they were juicy and delicious. Would make again but likely dial down the cayenne a bit. However, I must be a glutton for punishment because I still ate half the ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I think if I were to cut down the amount of Cayenne, that would have made a difference! The ribs were very good with the rub, but too hot for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITGREEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Frederick, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I used this recipe on pork ribs and it was excellent!! I also used only about 1/2 of the cayenne pepper and it was still a little more spicy than I wanted it, but overall I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States