Simple Pork Rib Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was so delicious, but very spicy to some of us!! I took the advice of other reviewers, did 1c sugar, 2 tbls cayenne and black pepper, added salt, garlic powder and onion powder. Then threw in some steak rub for good measure. It cooked beautifully on the grill. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was awesome, you won't find a better recipe. Slow cooked on the BBQ for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is such an easy-win way to prepare ribs! I don't have a grill, but wanted to impress my hubby for Father's Day.. The original recipe was a bit spicy for our kids, so the second time around, I halved the cayenne and substituted 1/8 cup chili powder and 1/8 cup paprika, to get the quantity correct. To prep I rubbed the ribs the night before (7# used half do the recipe), wrapped in foil, and refrigerated. To cook in the oven, I used 250F for 3hrs or so. We didn't need any sauce, and the flavor was spicy & fall-off-the-bone tender! We'll be making this at least every other week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
VERY spicy!! I would amp up the sugar and cut back on the black pepper. Totally omitted the cayenne and used anchoo chili with a touch of chipotle for the smoky flave. Too spicy, but amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I just made these and they were great I added honey for a final coat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I loved the combination but reduced the pepper amounts by half since my spouse fusses about food which is too spicy. I love it spicy but it is wonderful no matter what amount is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Definitely too hot in its original form. I followed the toned down version and felt it was still too much. Also, the outer layer was too tough. But that might be my fault for leaving it on too long. I will try it again with appropriate adjustments: Less cayenne, and shorter time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I tried this and wow the cayane pepper was way too strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice basic dry rub. We did add garlic and onion powder and would do so again to add more depth of flavor. It is spicy , be aware of the heat from the black pepper. We prefer hot so I added some crushed red pepper. We had country style ribs and they stayed juicy and tender. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States