Simple Peanut Butter Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these as muffins with 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. Tasted great! I didn't have buttermilk so I used three tablespoons of yogurt and one tablespoon of milk and mixed it together. I used butter instead of shortening. I also used two normal sized bananas to keep them moist and one teaspoon of vanilla. They filled the muffin hole to the top so I cooked them for 24 minutes at 350. The second time I made these, I used applesauce instead of butter, added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg and cooked them for 20 minutes at 350. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious.. I made it exactly as written, and it baked in precisely one hour. Perfect consistency, moist in the middle with a hard, crunchy top and you could really taste the peanut butter. I had been searching for a peanut butter muffin recipe for a long time, to no avail, so having found this recipe, it will take the place of the peanut butter muffins I was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I used melted butter instead of shortening and I threw in a half cup or so of mini chocolate chips. I made muffins out of this instead of one big loaf--I got 12 medium sized muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at just over twenty minutes. Everyone loved this banana bread, we had over half gone for breakfast and the remaining muffins were gone by the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Very nice. Family LOVED these as muffins topped w Peanut Butter and Banana Frosting from this site. I used egg white substitute for the eggs (no one ever notices, so if you're watching calories in baking it's a great sub) and used sour milk instead of buttermilk, and otherwise left everything the same. I filled the muffin tins about 3/4 full and still got 16 rounded muffins out of this recipe. The muffins were done at about 25 minutes. They didn't brown much as muffins, though, so if I hadn't topped with frosting I'd suggest a topping of peanuts or something before going in the oven for visual appeal. As another reviewer commented, this results in a pretty smooth result, so if you like some fruit or nuts added into your bread/muffins I'd suggest using chunky peanut butter and/or adding in some dried fruit. Really, though, if you love banana bread and you love peanut butter, you will more than likely enjoy this recipe. Both are noticeable in this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent! Used butter, not shortening and also white whole wheat flour. Added some mini chic chips. I also did 12 good size muffins (not a loaf of bread) baked for about 25 mins @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I cut the sugar by half, used whole wheat flour and 2 egg whites but everybody loved it at home. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Got to eat this with a massive glass of milk. :) Topped with peanut bits. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious!! I also used melted butter instead of shortening. I folded in mini chocolate chips as well. I made these into muffins and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Von Druska

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! I am picky about my banana breads too, had to try this one because of the peanut butter, so glad I did! ! went with 1/2 Whole wheat & 1/2 White flour, used butter instead of shortening, a little bit more banana, and a hair less sugar than called for. Excellent! Don't know why another reviewer said she couldn't taste the banana or the peanut better very strongly, I found both the flavors very robust & well balanced in this recipe! Everyone I shared it will loved it, I have 2 more loaves in the oven now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Only deviation from the recipe was sprinkling a handful of chopped peanuts on the top of the batter before it went into the oven. Texture was more cake-like rather than traditional bread-like, but plenty moist and tasty. Only one criticism...it was very crumbly and difficult to slice; we ended up eating it with a fork. Both the peanut butter and the banana flavors come through, with not one dominating the other.*****UPDATE 4.23.13******The slicing issue may have been a result of the bread not cooled "completely" because it sliced just fine this morning (guess we were a little too eager to test it out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States