Simple Peanut Butter Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! I am picky about my banana breads too, had to try this one because of the peanut butter, so glad I did! ! went with 1/2 Whole wheat & 1/2 White flour, used butter instead of shortening, a little bit more banana, and a hair less sugar than called for. Excellent! Don't know why another reviewer said she couldn't taste the banana or the peanut better very strongly, I found both the flavors very robust & well balanced in this recipe! Everyone I shared it will loved it, I have 2 more loaves in the oven now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I found it to be very dry and I couldn't really taste the peanut butter. The only alterations I made was to use butter in place of the shortening and we added mini choco chips. Maybe I'll make a peanut butter frosting to put on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious!! I also used melted butter instead of shortening. I folded in mini chocolate chips as well. I made these into muffins and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VonD84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made these as muffins with 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. Tasted great! I didn't have buttermilk so I used three tablespoons of yogurt and one tablespoon of milk and mixed it together. I used butter instead of shortening. I also used two normal sized bananas to keep them moist and one teaspoon of vanilla. They filled the muffin hole to the top so I cooked them for 24 minutes at 350. The second time I made these, I used applesauce instead of butter, added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg and cooked them for 20 minutes at 350. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I love peanut butter and bananas together. The best snack is a peanut butter and banana sandwich. When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it right away. It turned out very good; however, I thought that it would taste better than it did. I couldn’t really tell there was peanut butter in it. It has much more of a banana taste than I expected. I think maybe next time I will try to had peanut butter without making the batter to thick. I didn’t have a loaf pan so I used a 7 by 11 baking dish. I had enough batter to fill up the entire backing dish. I would suggest using two loaf pans when making this recipe because you will easily have enough batter. I found the bread to be incredibly dense and a little bit dry. My mom suggested adding banana pudding to the batter to make it denser. However, by doing that you will also be taking away more of the peanut butter tastes. All-in-all, this is a good recipe for peanut butter banana bread. My fiancée asked if next time we make it to add chocolate chips to make peanut butter chocolate chip banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Very nice. Family LOVED these as muffins topped w Peanut Butter and Banana Frosting from this site. I used egg white substitute for the eggs (no one ever notices, so if you're watching calories in baking it's a great sub) and used sour milk instead of buttermilk, and otherwise left everything the same. I filled the muffin tins about 3/4 full and still got 16 rounded muffins out of this recipe. The muffins were done at about 25 minutes. They didn't brown much as muffins, though, so if I hadn't topped with frosting I'd suggest a topping of peanuts or something before going in the oven for visual appeal. As another reviewer commented, this results in a pretty smooth result, so if you like some fruit or nuts added into your bread/muffins I'd suggest using chunky peanut butter and/or adding in some dried fruit. Really, though, if you love banana bread and you love peanut butter, you will more than likely enjoy this recipe. Both are noticeable in this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Got to eat this with a massive glass of milk. :) Topped with peanut bits. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious.. I made it exactly as written, and it baked in precisely one hour. Perfect consistency, moist in the middle with a hard, crunchy top and you could really taste the peanut butter. I had been searching for a peanut butter muffin recipe for a long time, to no avail, so having found this recipe, it will take the place of the peanut butter muffins I was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This recipe uses buttermilk which is new for me in a quick bread. I used a peanut butter that had chocolate, honey, and bananas included. I didn't have mini chocolate chips, so I used the regular sized milk chocolate chips. I added 1 teaspoon hazelnut extract. It turned out good, but I will continue to tinker with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dawson Springs, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
We liked it okay but can't say I'd make it again just as written. It's very smooth and moist, but it's almost too smooth. I put some chopped peanuts on top and wished I had put them in the batter or even had used chunky peanut butter. I think Sarah Jo is right-- it would almost be better as muffins instead of a loaf of bread, and adding mini chocolate chips would make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States