Simple Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I made this to take to a 4th of July cookout last weekend. It was a HIT! I altered the recipe by using part Good Seasons Italian and part Zesty Italian dressings; used 1/2 a chopped onion instead of green onions; used 3 tomatoes instead of 6; added 1/2 green pepper; 4 ounces of shredded paramesan cheese instead of grated; and added a small can of black olives. Even people who weren't found of pasta salad said it was delicious! Thanks for a great base recipe - the possibilities are endless as to what you could do with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Very simple and light, yet a tasty salad. Perfect for those summer days! I added a little black pepper to mine just for the extra punch since it had a very mild taste. I also add onion powder sometimes. You can add more or less salad dressing depending on your taste and you could experiment with other salad dressing flavors as well. I have to say my favorite is with Balsamic Vinagrette Salad Dressing(light). Just simple and delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great pasta salad - perfect for any BBQ! Pasta salads are so easy and no matter what you add to them as long as the veggies are fresh, you use a good quality dressing, and it's chilled - it'll be delicious. So add what you like. This recipe is a great base. I used tri-colored pasta, a whole bunch of cherry tomatoes that I cut in half and added some black olives along with the rest of the ingredients. For the dressing I used Good Seasons Italian dressing mix (so it was kinda homemade, and kinda not). I also added some parmesan and romano cheeses. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Well, I think I made it even better! We made my roasted vegetables today (recipe submitted today), and added them instead of the tomatoes and cucumbers. Wow! Note that if you can find Club House's One Step Parmesean & Herb Seasoning, you can substitute a bottle of that for the parm and italian seasoning. Here's the roasted veggie recipe (it's easy): 8 cups chopped veggies (your choice, such as zucchini, asparagus, cherry tomatoes, sweet peppers, mushrooms, etc), marinated in a bottle of your favourite dressing, suggestions are parmesean basil, greek, or sundried tomato. Marinate for two hours, tossing frequently. Grill on medium BBQ or in oven at 350 for 30 mins or until tender-crisp. Add to pasta salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This will be the pasta salad I use from now on. I used a salad dressing that had Romano & Parmesan in it, and still used the extra Parmesan cheese. I used 3 chopped tomatoes instead of 6, 6 seemed to be a lot for me, I am not big on tomatoes. Very good idea to have ingredients on hand during the summer months! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I've used a similar recipe for years. I usually mix the Italian dressing in with the cooked pasta the night before and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight before adding the vegetables. I also add a 1/2 bottle of McCormick Salad Seasoning. My husband loves this after a hot day at work (he works in a non-airconditioned plant).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This is a good, basic starter recipe for pasta salad. I added green and black olives (I love olives), salami, mozzeralla cubes and instead of the italian dressing, I used caesar. I got a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
A simple, yummy pasta salad. I have made this for a bunch of different events and always have people asking for the recipe. I like to use halved cherry tomatoes, for their sweetness, as well as a really good shaved parmesan (and lots of it!). You can experiment with different Italian dressings to find a flavor that suits you; I usually just go with whatever is on sale (!), but I'm not picky, and I don't think you could go wrong. Presuming you make this ahead of time, I would suggest reserving some dressing to mix in just before serving -- or even adding extra, as I have -- as the pasta will soak up a lot of it. I also add more parmesan when I give it a final toss, for added texture. This recipe is kind o a no-brainer, as it's just so easy and good. It's a staple in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is one of the best recipes I have taken off allrecipes.com. I substituted green pepper in place of one of the cucumbers. Everyone at our camp out raved about this salad and almost all when back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Amazingly delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States