Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I had a tall order to fill after trying several of the other chocolate cake recipes from this site. This was the first one that really wowed me. It's simple, no pudding or chocolate chips, and perfectly textured and moist. I did use hot coffee, mainly because i forgot to cool it in advance, but most of the other recipes use hot, and it was delicious as ever. The key to a good cake is making sure your butter and sugar is creamed well before you add the egg and vanilla. I also lightly beated my egg before adding it to the mix. The batter will be runny, but it ends up brilliant. Say hello to my new basic chocolate cake recipe: not too sweet, but perfectly chocolate-y UPDATE: I just made these into cupcakes (it made 16) and they only needed about 17 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
OMG Delicious!! I am not a fan of chocolate cake but this was amazing. I was trying to find a good frosting recipe to put on top but half of the cake was already gone so we ate just the cake with no topping, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is a simply and yummy cake. I was worried as the batter seemed a bit thin, but it turned out wonderful. I made a chocolate cream cheese icing that just put it over the top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vbnjb88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made a layer cake and it was absolutely amazing! I made a simple whipped cream frosting and topped with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly (exept for using hot coffee) and made 12 delicious cupcakes. I used a simple confectioner's sugar+water glaze and it was just perfect. Will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
this turned out delicious!!!!!it had a minty flavor to it also when I took it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my new cake recipe for Birthdays...turned out great! Kids loved it. The only thing that was off for me was that i only cooked it for 30 min...and turned it down to 325F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Wow!!! Will definitely make this again. It is rich and moist. I did use 1/2 butter w/ 1/2 shortening. I did not have much butter. But again a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect! Made it as a birthday cake for my husband and everyone loved it! He said it's a definite do-over. The only change I made was half coffee and half coffee liqueur because he wanted alcohol in his cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Fantastic cake made exactly as written. Frosted with Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States