Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This wonderful recipe has prompted me to write my very first review of any recipe that I have ever tried and I have tried many. The cake was FANTASTIC! It was easy to put together and it was absolutely delicious. It was moist, not too sweet, perfect amount of chocolate, just simply yummy!!! I will definitely make this again. Last night I just sprinkled it with powdered sugar; this morning (naughty me!) I ate it plain. Next time I need a layer cake, I will definitely use this recipe by doubling it. I also liked this recipe because the when the cake was baked it turned out to be a very nice thick layer, not a skimpy one inch high thing. It will make an excellent two layer cake for a group or it is perfect as one layer for a quick and easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
wow! super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I was very pleased with the recipe! I made cupcakes rather than the cake and definitely will be keeping this one. Easy to make! Much better than a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious Moist Cupcakes! Not too sweet but still flavourful with a good frosting. I used one and a half long shots of espresso with the rest water to make one cup. That may have made them a bit more bitter, that's why the frosting made a big difference too. But I will use espresso next time again! - I will let the espresso cool a bit though. Stayed fresh in the fridge for days - gave some to my sister three days after baking and she said they tasted fresher than the ones at the cupcake store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
YUM!!! If you are looking for a great chocolate recipe for cupcakes....this is it!! All the other chocolate cake recipes that I have tried to use for cupcakes don't turn out well. They either sink or stick to the liners. But this recipe turns out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
No more boxes of cake mix! Hooray! I was quite skeptical that this would go over since I have one in our family who thinks cake mixes set par...but this came out wonderfully. I used hot coffee (a chocolate infused type) as suggested by some -- that made the batter a bit thin, but as it sat while I filled cupcake pans, the batter thickened up (and I don't think it made a difference between the first batch and the last). Fantastic flavor and very nice texture, although perhaps a bit more dense than a cake mix would yield. I am very pleased with the results that regular flour gave this (as opposed to cake flour). Oh, and the ones that weren't gobbled up while cooling were topped with a vanilla whipped cream frosting swirl (though I may try a chocolate whipped cream next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
If I could give this six stars, I would. This is a phenomenal recipe. If I could just find a yellow and a white cake recipe of this caliber. I am a pastry chef, and hands down this is the best chocolate butter cake I have ever made. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Error free recipe! Perfect to satisfy the craving for a cake in a short time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I make this into 12 cupcakes, which were a little too large and went over the edge of the liner, so I will make more like 14-16 next time. My coffee was still warm when I added it to the batter, but it didn't seem to hurt it at all. Frosted them with Caramel Frosting IV from this site for a wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was the best cake I have ever made and I used decaf coffee that was choclate favored. I did not use a topping but it went great with whip cream or ice cream. A winner in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States