Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! Plus I get some coffee for a nice mocha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6Chihuahuas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I was VERY dissapointed in this cake, I am giving this 2 stars simply for the ease of preperation, other than that I would have rated this 1 star. First off, I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly as written, I was shocked once it baked that it had barely risen and I was left with 2 super thin round cakes. Finally I had a taste and I had to keep tasting it as it lacked flavor. It was very bland! I thought it may be my taste buds but I had my husband and kids try it and they all agreed it is very plain. Very dissapointed all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Not bad. I made it in a bundt pan becasue I liked the look of it that way in some of the pictures. Maybe that affected it, becasue it was a little dry...? I topped it with buttercream frosting and it wasn't bad. I would make it again, but put chocolate chips in it and try a different pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Last week my friends and I went apple picking, so I had tons of apples on my hands. To make a tasty cake to stick the apples in, I altered the recipe by cutting out the chocolate and replacing the coffee with half milk half rum. Put in about 1-1.5 cups of chopped apple and baked for the same time. A little on the sweet side, but turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Brilliant recipe. Thanks so much. I added another tablespoon or 2 of cocoa because the coffee I added was so strong and I didn't want the chocolate flavor to be overpowered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! Going to be my new chocolate cake recipe! Thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Simple perfection. I'm guessing some reviewers have some coffee with their sugar. If you don't like cofee to the point you have to counter out it's flavor, than this recipe is not for you. For the rest of us, simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
really really rich and chocolatey, make as cup cakes, baked at 350 for about 20 minutes, topped with peanut butter frosting, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. I don't drink coffee and didn't even know how to use the coffee maker. You do not taste the coffee in this cake. I am searching for the perfect icing for it. I tried butter cream, but I want something that will not overpower this perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
OMG! Made this recipe, exactly as directed. I poured batter into cupcake tins instead of cake pan; made 12 full (high) cupcakes. Baked them at 350 degrees for about 14 minutes. I AM NOT a coffee drinker and you COULD NOT taste the coffee, at all. I also added the coffee before it was cooled. These were delicious and just about the most moist (cup)cake, I have ever made. I frosted these with the "Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting" recipe from this site. A definite keeper and staple in my recipe box. Thank your for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States