Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by nisattas
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is easy and hassle free.. I followed the exact recipe and made it into 11 cupcakes, the baking took approximately 17 minutes.. They were moist and light and yummy.. eventhough I kinda expected them to taste richer since they looked so dark (probably because of the coffee).. I was too lazy to make some icing so I just sprinkled some powdered sugar on top of them.. I'm gonna be using this recipe again in the future but maybe I'll add more chocolate to make it taste richer..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
A little light, balanced chocolate taste. Brown-pinkish color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Unbelievable that such a few simple ingredients could produce such a divine cake. Had excellent flavor and a beautiful soft texture. Followed another reviewer's advice & added HOT coffee--I do think it intensified the cocoa flavoring. Thanks for a marvelous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I am planning to make this for our weekend treat- I am rating it a 5 because it's simple and a small cake- so less to eat and easy to enjoy! Thanks for posting this, my mom used to make a small chocolate cake for special occasions but never wrote the recipe down. Now I have one too! I'll give you an update after I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great chocolate cake! I doubled the recipe and use a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I am a great cook but not always a great baker. ;) This recipe was yummy, easy and it turned out awesome! I was surprised that someone did not find it sweet enough - I guess I don't eat that much sugar. It was a great balance for me. I did add toasted coconut to the dry ingredients mostly because I was trying to use it up. It made it very moist. I used a mocha icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
3/03 Good! This is dark chocolate cake. 'Better than Hershey's Black Magic Cake. :o :) 'Makes you glad you have leftover coffee. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I substituted 1 cup cold milk for the coffee (didn't have the patience to brew coffee)! It turned out really delicious. It was nice and simple, but moist and decadent. I will use this recipe again, and I am putting it in my book of "great recipes I find on the internet". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kierarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Awesome and very flavorful cake. I used it with coffee butter frosting and also poured some homemade caramel on it then topped it with shaved chocolate. I used very strong coffee - still I wouldnt say it really tasted like coffee so much as a very deep flavorful chocolate. I found that two recipes made four layers for me.If you dont want it to break up when taking it out of the pan then dont put the batter in the pan till right before you pop it in the oven. My first two layers came out cleanly but because the last two had sat in their floured pans while I was cooking the first two I left a big chunk of cake in the bottom of the pans. This is probably because the flour and grease on the pan has time to be absorbed by the cake batter. So watch out for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
The first time I made it, something went wrong - full hour and it was still absolutely liquid. I was so disappointed, but decided to give it another try - all the good reviews can't be just imagination! So yesterday I tried again and it was as if I had used a completely different recipe! It rose up beautifully, with just a little bump in the middle, it was perfectly cooked in 40 minutes, looks absolutely delicious. I haven't tried it yet, as I'm debating whether to bring it as a present all in one piece(I really do want to try, though). I'd give it a 5 had I tried for taste, I'm sure it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States