Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Fast and easy, but not the best tasting,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Halved the recipe and baked in a standard loaf pan. In an attempt to lower the fat count, I used applesauce in place of butter...this actually made the end product sweeter than it would otherwise have been, but with this particular cake, that was not a big issue. Many reviewers had commented about this not being a particularly sweet cake, anyway. I let the cake cool and then used small cookie cutters to cut out little cakes. This is really yummy with no frosting as is, or served up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I loved this cake! I used very strong cold-brewed coffee (I'm a barista ;D I used undiluted cold brew concentrate from my cafe). It's been awhile since I made this- I might have added a little extra vanilla, and maybe cinnamon? At first I was disappointed with the sweetness- I tried a bit while the cake was still warm and didn't find it sweet at all. But once it cooled, the cake was perfecttttt. I almost didn't frost it. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fabulous recipe..this was great..try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The best chocolate cake recipe that I have ever made!! Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Absolutely, positively DELICIOUS chocolate cupcakes! My daughter has been asking for chocolate cake the past few days, so I decided to whip these up today. I took Naples advice, and added the coffee while it was still hot/warm, which I do think makes a difference in bringing out the cocoa flavor. This made 12 cupcakes (plus I had a little batter left over, which I made into 4 mini cupcakes using a mini muffin pan - just the perfect size for me to do my taste test). I baked the 12 cupcakes for about 16 minutes. I topped these with a Nutella Buttercream (adapted from a recipe I found on Pinterest), and a chocolate covered espresso bean! So pretty and yummy. Saving this one to the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Makes 14 cupcakes. Batter was way too wet, so I'll decrease the coffee to 2/3 c in the next batch. I also added 1/4 c mini chocolate chips to the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I normally don't like cake, but this recipe changed my mind. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
i love this recipe, the cake tastes so amazing, but the cake doesn't rise enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this cake exactly as directions read...and it turned out fantastic! All the five star reviews are correct. If you want a simple, delicious chocolate cake this is the one to try. I didn't even frost it. It is glorious in all it's chocolaty goodness without any extra bling! You gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States