Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this tonight and it is perfectly delicious without any additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was really good, but, I added a few things after reading the reviews of it not being sweet enough. I added 1 1/4 cup of light brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup applesauce, two teaspoons of vanilla extract. This cake came out extremely moist and just sweet enough (not over overbearingly sweet and not bitter either)! I also sprinkled powdered sugar instead of frosting (I'm not too much of a frosting person anyways) and it was delicious...all with a nice warm cup of butternut toffee coffee :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poeticlytragic
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rouge
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I agree with other members, it's very moist but not too sweet. Although I increased the level of coco powder it's still not chocolat-ey. That has to be taken care by the frosting and the icing now. I did add more vanilla and doubled the recipe for 2 tiered cake. If you want something fudgey then go with a recipe that calls for melted chocolate rather than coco powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Fast and easy, but not the best tasting,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Halved the recipe and baked in a standard loaf pan. In an attempt to lower the fat count, I used applesauce in place of butter...this actually made the end product sweeter than it would otherwise have been, but with this particular cake, that was not a big issue. Many reviewers had commented about this not being a particularly sweet cake, anyway. I let the cake cool and then used small cookie cutters to cut out little cakes. This is really yummy with no frosting as is, or served up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I loved this cake! I used very strong cold-brewed coffee (I'm a barista ;D I used undiluted cold brew concentrate from my cafe). It's been awhile since I made this- I might have added a little extra vanilla, and maybe cinnamon? At first I was disappointed with the sweetness- I tried a bit while the cake was still warm and didn't find it sweet at all. But once it cooled, the cake was perfecttttt. I almost didn't frost it. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fabulous recipe..this was great..try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
The best chocolate cake recipe that I have ever made!! Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Absolutely, positively DELICIOUS chocolate cupcakes! My daughter has been asking for chocolate cake the past few days, so I decided to whip these up today. I took Naples advice, and added the coffee while it was still hot/warm, which I do think makes a difference in bringing out the cocoa flavor. This made 12 cupcakes (plus I had a little batter left over, which I made into 4 mini cupcakes using a mini muffin pan - just the perfect size for me to do my taste test). I baked the 12 cupcakes for about 16 minutes. I topped these with a Nutella Buttercream (adapted from a recipe I found on Pinterest), and a chocolate covered espresso bean! So pretty and yummy. Saving this one to the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Makes 14 cupcakes. Batter was way too wet, so I'll decrease the coffee to 2/3 c in the next batch. I also added 1/4 c mini chocolate chips to the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States