Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made these into 12 cupcakes today while three guys installed a new air conditioner. I left three on one plate, and left the other nine on a platter. I told them to each help themselves to "a" cupcake. I went about my business and they with theirs. Next thing I know, I see two of three guys with frosting moustaches and the plate with nine cupcakes gone! They said thank you several times, proclaimed the cupcakes amazing and told me I was "a good woman." Once they left, I tried one myself--yep, they're good. REALLY good. When making the batter I used the coffee hot. I read somewhere that hot coffee or boiling water has some kind of reaction with the cocoa that makes it bloom and bring out the depth of its flavor. I frosted these dark, moist and chocolatey cupcakes with my own vanilla buttercream frosting. There are now two left for Hubs when he gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wow, I can't believe a cake this simple is so moist and rich. The family loved it. I made it exactly as per the recipe with fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
just finished making this cake, iced it with the 'One minute chocolate icing' found on this site, both turned out beautifully and I have a simple, elegant, yet sure to be tasty cake for valentines day!! will be using this recipe again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I used milk instead of coffee, since I don't drink coffee and never have it around the house....as long as you don't over bake this cake it will always be amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
delicious :) very easy to make and my family loved it, i used the "decorator icing" recipe to decorate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlecook93
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This cake was very easy to make, but in the end my batter tasted very very strongly of coffee. So I added 1/2 cup of sugar, doubled the amount of vanilla and added about 3 or 4 dashes of Coffeemate. Yes, Coffeemate (the vanilla caramel flavor). It tasted great in the end and I was very very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecook93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This cake is the first I made and it was awesome and easy! I spread a thin layer of chocolate syrup on top and it turned out great. Tips: Use 1/8 more sugar and half the cocoa powder to 1/4 cup. It will make the cake a bit less black and it will taste just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampines, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
made allot of dishes, but was awfully good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I have made this for my friends probably 6-8 times - for birthdays, for dinner parties, for a girls' night in. Each time it gets rave reviews. I just pour 200 grams (~7 oz) of melted plain chocolate over it, and it gets comments like "the most amazing chocolate cake ever". I've also experimented - I've added freshly squeezed orange juice, and garnished with orange slices - that was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Have made this cake again and again! It is now a favourite with anyone who has tried it! I made it with plain water (in place of the coffee) and missed ou the vanilla extract, but it was just as delicious! I am sure to make this many more times than I already have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Anne R-P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States