Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
LOVE IT! Even my husband liked it and he's not a big chocolate fan. This literally takes me 10 minutes to throw together once I have all my ingredients ready. I get 16 cupcakes out of this recipe and bake them for 20 min or doubled, I bake it 50 minutes in a bundt pan or 40 minutes in a 9X13. My only change is using piping hot coffee instead of cold. This cake isn't very sweet but it's ... just perfect. If you have a big sweet tooth you might want to ice it with a fairly sweet icing. Creamy Chocolate Frosting from this site is a great topper! The cake is delicious plain or frosted and has a wonderfully moist texture that isn't wet or fudgy. Don't worry if you're not a coffee drinker because it doesn't leave even the slightest hint of coffee flavor but it definitely enhances the chocolate so don't skip it! It freezes well and was very easy to work with when making my son's robot cake for his birthday. Absolutely fantastic and even better the second day! Thank you! This is what chocolate cake should taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
i always add coffee to my chocolate cake but have never added so much! This is amazing! With that heaping one cup of coffee (i used hot coffee), this cake turns out freaking moist and it literally melts in your mouth. Served it to a head chef, he was very impressed with the texture and the taste. it's not too sweet but sweet enough to go without frosting (he asked all sort of questions about the recipe ;p). everyone loved it plain. i can't thank you enough for such a great recipe :) Chocolate + Coffee, you'll never get it wrong. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes, and it made 12 exactly. Moist and delicious.. Possibly the best cake recipe I've made from here so far. I changed nothing about the recipe except the cooking time (cupcakes only took about 20 min), and the results were fabulous. I topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze.. but this cake really doesn't need anything on top. I'll be making this one again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This cake is NOT sweet. Unfortunately I did not see that note on another review. This would be much better with milk chocolate chips or something in them. Perhaps a little less coffee and a little more sugar would have helped. I will not make this again, just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
i live overseas and needed an easy cake recipe that i could find ingredients for!! not only was this cake super simple but it was SO DELICIOUS! it stayed moist for a good few days! instead of a cup of coffee, i used milk+shot of espresso to = a cup. i couldnt find a frosting that i liked, so hot out of the oven i smothered it in nutella! we will totally be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiana8501
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The best chocolate cake I have ever made. And I make an obnoxious amount thereof. Soooo moist and chocolaty. No more searching for new chocolate cake recipes! Although I do think I will have to try replacing the egg with banana for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wow....this is the first cake I've ever baked from scratch and it came out perfectly! I made it for my girlfriend's birthday and she was very impressed. My mother used to make a chocolate cake with coffee, and I always remembered how incredibly chocolaty it was, so I went looking specifically for a chocolate cake with coffee, and I was NOT disappointed with this recipe. Great job! I can't wait for another excuse to make this again. I chickened out on the frosting and bought something at the store, but, maybe next time I'll take the plunge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notmuchofacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Albin, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was the most scrumptious of delicious cakes I have ever tasted. In fact, I would go so far as to call it scrumptididdliumptious. And this even though we used day-old coffee, omitted vanilla and salt, and almost forgot to add the butter. Thank you, J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My friend said this was the best chocolate cake ever! Came out super moist and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake was absolutly delicous. I can tell the coffe is what gives it that tasty dark chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States