Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my new cake recipe for Birthdays...turned out great! Kids loved it. The only thing that was off for me was that i only cooked it for 30 min...and turned it down to 325F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Surita
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Wow!!! Will definitely make this again. It is rich and moist. I did use 1/2 butter w/ 1/2 shortening. I did not have much butter. But again a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect! Made it as a birthday cake for my husband and everyone loved it! He said it's a definite do-over. The only change I made was half coffee and half coffee liqueur because he wanted alcohol in his cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Fantastic cake made exactly as written. Frosted with Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
these were so easy and super yummy. Definitely couldnt taste the coffee at all. I wonder if you used flavored coffee if you would slightly taste the flavor??...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I, too, baked these into 12 beautiful cupcakes for 23 minutes and frosted them with "Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting", also from this site! The result?? Beautiful, cute, little cupcakes which everyone enjoyed to have more! The recipe is really simple and fuss-free without any sort of "modification" needed, except using hot coffee instead of cold like others; just don't be unduly alarmed by its extremely thin batter but they would texture turn our nice eventually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made no changes to this recipe and it came out well.. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and they turned out great! Really moist and great flavor (like some of the other reviewers I used hot instead of cold coffee)-- and it's hard to mess up, I'm living in a country where no one uses measuring utensils so I eye-balled all of the measurements and still turned out great! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Coffee can be a little overpowering, but top it off with a sweet frosting and YES THIS IS AMAZING! I made the mistake of using a frosting that had peanut butter in it - which totally ruined the cake itself. I am looking forward to making it with a sweet frosting and I can't wait to eat it! Cooking time can be lessened, just keep your eyes on it. I did use hot coffee out of the pot. Next time will try cold, as recipes states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made cupcakes n they were very moist but I found the cake v salty .... mayb its because i'm using rock salt. My advice is to use just 1/4 tsp of salt not more. And dont pour in all the coffee ... u might hav to leave behind a few tablespoons, so add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saba Abbasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States