Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
This was easy and excellent!! Very moist. Made a simple chocolate frosting and used Kahlua as part of the liquid. Will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This cake is perfect when you don't want to fuss with a layer cake. It is absolutely delicious and does not need frosting. My guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I've made this cake twice in the last week: once for my future in-laws and once for my family. It was SO easy and absolutely delicious. I don't drink coffee so I was a little worried it would taste like coffee, but it didn't. This cake was moist, not too rich and with a nice crumb. I served it with vanilla frozen yogurt and berries. ONE THING: I found that it was done perfectly after 30 minutes...everyone's oven is different so I always recommend checking early instead of too late!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This cake is a real winner! My children were concerned that it would taste like a coffee cake because of the coffee in it, but it didn't to their relief! It has a rich, moist chocolatey flavour. Easy to make too. The kids verdict was "YUMMY!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for to cure my chocolate cake craving. Moist rich and very chocolatey. I drizzled a chocolate glaze on top, but it's good enough to stand on it's own. Will definitely be making this again, though I might double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Delicious! I made cupcakes instead of a cake. I also used a about 1/4 tsp almond extract and 3/4 tsp vanilla instead of only vanilla. This was a great idea. It reminds me of swiss almond chocolate coffee. Very rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2000
Nice and Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Very moist and tender. Great size for small families. I used the Coffee Butter Frosting listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I used a Irish Cream coffee brew to make it and it tastes fantastic. Add to that a mild chocolate frosting laced with Baileys (in my case heavily laced) and it's a yummy combination. Definitely a hit with everyone at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I use a light boiled frosting with chocolate shavings to dress it up.Then I chill in the fridge for a few hours before serving.WONDERFUL taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States