Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yep these are pretty much the best ever! I added 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper I know it sounds strange but that's what the ancient civilizations used to put in Cacao before they had sweeteners it's delicious. It also intensifies the aphrodisiac qualities of chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by placidstars

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Fantastic. Made these cupcakes this evening and it took all of my will power to limit myself to one. I found that in my muffin/cupcake tin, it netted 12 cupcakes rather than 10. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this cake with homemeade peanut butter chocolate chip icing and everyone loved it! It stayed moist for days and wasn't too heavy. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
easiest chocolate cake! i doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan for 45 minutes....came out perfect...(i have actually done this twice in the last 3 days). i made a raspberry puree to spoon on top...super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My three friends and I destroyed this cake in under an hour last night. I'm thinking of making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I was looking for a quick and simple dessert. What I found was one of the most amazing chocolate cakes I have EVER tasted! Fabulous taste and texture! Thank you so much for this recipe!!! As another reviewer mentioned, mine was perfectly baked in just 30 minutes. Will definitely be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
wonderful, rich and moist. Made 12 cupcakes out of this batter. Frosted some with buttercream frosting, but the ones without frosting were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. It is simple and delicious. The coffee and chocolate combine perfectly. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aussiemum
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Really yummy. Easy to make. Moist and dark. Comes out perfect all the time. 10 serving shown here will make a small size cake. I doubled the recipe to make a good size birthday cake. Both kids and adults will enjoy this cake. A word of advice, this cake is sooo addictive especially for grown-ups. I think it's because it's not sweet at all so you feel less guilty when you eat it. I also made it into cupcakes and again, a success! It made about 8 or 9 regular size cupcakes. I think cupcake is a good serving size. It definitely helps me not to over indulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aussiemum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made these into 12 cupcakes today while three guys installed a new air conditioner. I left three on one plate, and left the other nine on a platter. I told them to each help themselves to "a" cupcake. I went about my business and they with theirs. Next thing I know, I see two of three guys with frosting moustaches and the plate with nine cupcakes gone! They said thank you several times, proclaimed the cupcakes amazing and told me I was "a good woman." Once they left, I tried one myself--yep, they're good. REALLY good. When making the batter I used the coffee hot. I read somewhere that hot coffee or boiling water has some kind of reaction with the cocoa that makes it bloom and bring out the depth of its flavor. I frosted these dark, moist and chocolatey cupcakes with my own vanilla buttercream frosting. There are now two left for Hubs when he gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States