Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
these were so easy and super yummy. Definitely couldnt taste the coffee at all. I wonder if you used flavored coffee if you would slightly taste the flavor??...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I, too, baked these into 12 beautiful cupcakes for 23 minutes and frosted them with "Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting", also from this site! The result?? Beautiful, cute, little cupcakes which everyone enjoyed to have more! The recipe is really simple and fuss-free without any sort of "modification" needed, except using hot coffee instead of cold like others; just don't be unduly alarmed by its extremely thin batter but they would texture turn our nice eventually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made no changes to this recipe and it came out well.. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and they turned out great! Really moist and great flavor (like some of the other reviewers I used hot instead of cold coffee)-- and it's hard to mess up, I'm living in a country where no one uses measuring utensils so I eye-balled all of the measurements and still turned out great! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Coffee can be a little overpowering, but top it off with a sweet frosting and YES THIS IS AMAZING! I made the mistake of using a frosting that had peanut butter in it - which totally ruined the cake itself. I am looking forward to making it with a sweet frosting and I can't wait to eat it! Cooking time can be lessened, just keep your eyes on it. I did use hot coffee out of the pot. Next time will try cold, as recipes states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made cupcakes n they were very moist but I found the cake v salty .... mayb its because i'm using rock salt. My advice is to use just 1/4 tsp of salt not more. And dont pour in all the coffee ... u might hav to leave behind a few tablespoons, so add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I know you're not supposed to eat cake batter, but hey, I live life on the wild side! :) The batter is better than any other cake batter I've had! I don't taste the coffee flavor very strongly in the batter, just a nice, rich chocolate-ness. It's a really nice, moist, and rich cake, and I doubt I'll make another box chocolate cake mix now that I have this recipe in my box. Really easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
LOVE IT! Even my husband liked it and he's not a big chocolate fan. This literally takes me 10 minutes to throw together once I have all my ingredients ready. I get 16 cupcakes out of this recipe and bake them for 20 min or doubled, I bake it 50 minutes in a bundt pan or 40 minutes in a 9X13. My only change is using piping hot coffee instead of cold. This cake isn't very sweet but it's ... just perfect. If you have a big sweet tooth you might want to ice it with a fairly sweet icing. Creamy Chocolate Frosting from this site is a great topper! The cake is delicious plain or frosted and has a wonderfully moist texture that isn't wet or fudgy. Don't worry if you're not a coffee drinker because it doesn't leave even the slightest hint of coffee flavor but it definitely enhances the chocolate so don't skip it! It freezes well and was very easy to work with when making my son's robot cake for his birthday. Absolutely fantastic and even better the second day! Thank you! This is what chocolate cake should taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
i always add coffee to my chocolate cake but have never added so much! This is amazing! With that heaping one cup of coffee (i used hot coffee), this cake turns out freaking moist and it literally melts in your mouth. Served it to a head chef, he was very impressed with the texture and the taste. it's not too sweet but sweet enough to go without frosting (he asked all sort of questions about the recipe ;p). everyone loved it plain. i can't thank you enough for such a great recipe :) Chocolate + Coffee, you'll never get it wrong. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes, and it made 12 exactly. Moist and delicious.. Possibly the best cake recipe I've made from here so far. I changed nothing about the recipe except the cooking time (cupcakes only took about 20 min), and the results were fabulous. I topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze.. but this cake really doesn't need anything on top. I'll be making this one again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States