Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is my new cake recipe for Birthdays...turned out great! Kids loved it. The only thing that was off for me was that i only cooked it for 30 min...and turned it down to 325F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Surita
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Wow!!! Will definitely make this again. It is rich and moist. I did use 1/2 butter w/ 1/2 shortening. I did not have much butter. But again a wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect! Made it as a birthday cake for my husband and everyone loved it! He said it's a definite do-over. The only change I made was half coffee and half coffee liqueur because he wanted alcohol in his cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Fantastic cake made exactly as written. Frosted with Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
these were so easy and super yummy. Definitely couldnt taste the coffee at all. I wonder if you used flavored coffee if you would slightly taste the flavor??...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I, too, baked these into 12 beautiful cupcakes for 23 minutes and frosted them with "Vanilla - Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting", also from this site! The result?? Beautiful, cute, little cupcakes which everyone enjoyed to have more! The recipe is really simple and fuss-free without any sort of "modification" needed, except using hot coffee instead of cold like others; just don't be unduly alarmed by its extremely thin batter but they would texture turn our nice eventually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made no changes to this recipe and it came out well.. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and they turned out great! Really moist and great flavor (like some of the other reviewers I used hot instead of cold coffee)-- and it's hard to mess up, I'm living in a country where no one uses measuring utensils so I eye-balled all of the measurements and still turned out great! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Coffee can be a little overpowering, but top it off with a sweet frosting and YES THIS IS AMAZING! I made the mistake of using a frosting that had peanut butter in it - which totally ruined the cake itself. I am looking forward to making it with a sweet frosting and I can't wait to eat it! Cooking time can be lessened, just keep your eyes on it. I did use hot coffee out of the pot. Next time will try cold, as recipes states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made cupcakes n they were very moist but I found the cake v salty .... mayb its because i'm using rock salt. My advice is to use just 1/4 tsp of salt not more. And dont pour in all the coffee ... u might hav to leave behind a few tablespoons, so add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saba Abbasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States