Simple Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Bland (I did follow other viewers and cut back on the cumin...maybe that's why??) and I was not a fan of the texture. Good base recipe to tweek to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
With minimal changes, it was really good! I only have tomato sauce, not paste, and I'm not a big tomato lover, so the amount of tomato flavor was perfect. I'd never put cumin in anything before, so I followed the advice of other cooks and used only 1 teaspoon. I used Calrose rice. I hate it when recipes say, "1 onion". How big of an onion? Some are 2 inches around, some are 5 inches around. I used half of a 4 inch, about 1/2 cup chopped. It makes a lot of rice, though. Next time I'll try half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yummy side, but not amazing. This rice compliments a Mexican main dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made for a not so spicy crowd- so cut down the chili powder to half tsp. and cumin to 1 tsp. added a tsp. of salt and used tomato sauce as I was out of tomato paste and baked in a very heavy Dutch oven. Came out fluffy (not saucy) and lovely added a 1/4 cup of pico de gallo when finished and was very pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Totally absolutely decent, but not mind-blowing. I had to cut down on the spices a bit because I was feeding a three-year-old, and I realized too late (like, five minutes ago) that I should have used short instead of long-grain rice. Which probably made a difference, and I wish I'd noticed that before! I do like the tomato paste. There are so many mexican rice recipes out there, though, and - even taking into account my errors and changes - I'm not sure this is The One. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Easy to make. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have made this several times and my husband says it's better than the rice at our local Mexican restaurant! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Better than the mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT!! This was comparable to our favorite mexican restaurant's rice. The only change I made due to necessity (out of regular rice), used minute rice, instead and increased rice by 1 cup (making enough for 10 servings, btw). Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and this rice turned out to be a giant sticky mess. The rice didn't get soft. It's crispy like it didn't cook at all. I looked back to make sure I measured everything correctly, and I did. Not sure what happened to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States