Simple Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
With minimal changes, it was really good! I only have tomato sauce, not paste, and I'm not a big tomato lover, so the amount of tomato flavor was perfect. I'd never put cumin in anything before, so I followed the advice of other cooks and used only 1 teaspoon. I used Calrose rice. I hate it when recipes say, "1 onion". How big of an onion? Some are 2 inches around, some are 5 inches around. I used half of a 4 inch, about 1/2 cup chopped. It makes a lot of rice, though. Next time I'll try half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yummy side, but not amazing. This rice compliments a Mexican main dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made for a not so spicy crowd- so cut down the chili powder to half tsp. and cumin to 1 tsp. added a tsp. of salt and used tomato sauce as I was out of tomato paste and baked in a very heavy Dutch oven. Came out fluffy (not saucy) and lovely added a 1/4 cup of pico de gallo when finished and was very pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Totally absolutely decent, but not mind-blowing. I had to cut down on the spices a bit because I was feeding a three-year-old, and I realized too late (like, five minutes ago) that I should have used short instead of long-grain rice. Which probably made a difference, and I wish I'd noticed that before! I do like the tomato paste. There are so many mexican rice recipes out there, though, and - even taking into account my errors and changes - I'm not sure this is The One. Thanks, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Great recipe. Easy to make. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have made this several times and my husband says it's better than the rice at our local Mexican restaurant! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Better than the mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT!! This was comparable to our favorite mexican restaurant's rice. The only change I made due to necessity (out of regular rice), used minute rice, instead and increased rice by 1 cup (making enough for 10 servings, btw). Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and this rice turned out to be a giant sticky mess. The rice didn't get soft. It's crispy like it didn't cook at all. I looked back to make sure I measured everything correctly, and I did. Not sure what happened to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is a good recipe to keep. Next time though I'll use less cumin and more tomato sauce. It didn't have a tomato taste or taste like the restraunt rice in my area. Still looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States