Simple Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Great Marinara! I didn't have any Romano Cheese on hand, so instead just used more Parmesan. Great flavor, and I like the chunky texture. I am sure I will use this one over and over! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was an interesting recipe. I am not sure if the cheese really added that much though. I added a little sugar to cut the acid. I also used half a real onion rather than onion powder. I then cooked meatballs in the sauce and before serving threw in a little fresh basil and parsley. It was good and good reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This turned out really well. I used it as a sauce for eggplant parmesan and it was simple but tasty. I didn't add as much cheese and added about a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Fantastic sauce! I added extra garlic, and since I didn't have crushed tomatoes on hand, I just used a can of diced tomatoes and mashed them a bit in the pot. I eyeballed the measurements, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I personally didnt care too much for it. My husband did. I think Im just not much of an oregano person. Next time I'll make it with basil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This came out great. I made this with a chicken cutlet recipe listed on this site. I had to be careful, since my wife is Italian, and I could not make a better sauce then she does. Only variation to the recipe was adding 2 1/2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning mix in place of the parsley and oregano and adding 1 tbs of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was simple and good which was what I wanted. I did not have tomato puree and Romano so used tomato sauce and Parmesan. It's great when the recipes call for items in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This wasn't bad, but didn't appeal to me any more than most sauces out of a jar. The parmesan left the sauce with a grainy texture. Adding sliced turkey sausage as an attempted improvement was a bad idea, as the flavors did not blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
wonderful recipe. perfect for a quick sauce. try adding a little boneless chicken in witht the garlic in the beginning. adds blissful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Followed it to nearly the letter. The thing with this type of sauce is the longer it simmers the better. I let mine simmer for 4ish hours and my dinner guests just drooled. This will be added to the list of sauces I'll use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States