Simple Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This came out great. I made this with a chicken cutlet recipe listed on this site. I had to be careful, since my wife is Italian, and I could not make a better sauce then she does. Only variation to the recipe was adding 2 1/2 tablespoons of Italian seasoning mix in place of the parsley and oregano and adding 1 tbs of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Another great recipe! The cheeses really make this stand out from other sauces. A version of this recipe has been in my family for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used this marinara sauce on Christmas Eve to serve with hot dagos and chicken parmesan. It was FABULOUS! My dad said it was the only sauce he has ever had that he didn't taste for two days after eating it. I did add just a tiny bit of Italian Seasoning and a little tiny bit of molasses (for a quadrupled recipe I used less than one tsp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This sauce is terrific. We used it for lasagna and though it is a thinner sauce than commercial sauces it did the job beautifully and very tastefully. It was delicious- even the children devoured it. We accidentally decreased the dry herbs by a bout half (my daughter was making it for us and misread the amount) but it was still plenty flavorful, we used tomato sauce for the puree and I used an immersion blender to thicken it and make it smooth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Fantastic sauce! I added extra garlic, and since I didn't have crushed tomatoes on hand, I just used a can of diced tomatoes and mashed them a bit in the pot. I eyeballed the measurements, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Simple and very good. Some times simple is the best way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
WARNING: YOU MUST BE AN OREGANO LOVER. I personally didnt care too much for it. This tasted like a bad jar sauce. My husband liked it - but thats not saying much. I think Im just not much of an oregano person. Since it had great reviews, i assume I'm part of the few who don't like an over seasoned sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Added basil as well as marjoram and a dash of sugar. Needed a quick sauce for my chicken parmesan and this fit the bill nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This turned out really well. I used it as a sauce for eggplant parmesan and it was simple but tasty. I didn't add as much cheese and added about a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was an interesting recipe. I am not sure if the cheese really added that much though. I added a little sugar to cut the acid. I also used half a real onion rather than onion powder. I then cooked meatballs in the sauce and before serving threw in a little fresh basil and parsley. It was good and good reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States