Simple Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This wasn't bad, but didn't appeal to me any more than most sauces out of a jar. The parmesan left the sauce with a grainy texture. Adding sliced turkey sausage as an attempted improvement was a bad idea, as the flavors did not blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very good simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I loved the cheese in the sauce. It smelled wonderful while cooking. I can't wait for my husband to try it. I made it while he is still at work so I could see if I liked it before I served it for dinner. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was incredible with the veal parmesan I made last night. We will make this our regular sauce for it from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My husband loved this and it was very simple to make. He really likes it as part of meatloaf parmesan and I enjoy combining it with my homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I loved your choice of tomato selection; I liked the texture and appearance it gives to the finished marinara sauce. I used the DiNapoli Brand but still wanted to cut the acid taste a bit so I added ½ teaspoon of Splenda brown sugar. (Simply a personal taste preference.) I prefer the caramel flavor of brown sugar over the plain sweet flavor of white sugar and the amount I used is not enough to sweeten the sauce but it does help cut the acid tang. I also added 1 teaspoon of J.B. Jamison’s Beef Flavored Soup Base. I don’t think it is a taste you will be able to pick out as being added to the recipe as it does not overpower the tomato base of the sauce. But it does add another layer of flavor to the sauce without being overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong. This was pretty much like eating parsley straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
What a great recipe! I used the sauce for pizza at a large dinner party everyone loved it and commented asking which brand I used, and they were suprised at the short cook time. I added some crushed red pepper just to spice it up some. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Ackermann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was just ok in our opinion. It was fast and easy to make though. We had it with St. Lois Toasted Ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Quick and easy tasty sauce. I made a double batch and canned it. Used sauce for pizza tonight. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States