Simple Malaysian Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Absolutely fantastic recipe. Easy to make and doesn't make a mess of the kitchen. Just signed up for an account to rate this. Changes I made : Added garlic paste instead of chopped garlic, added a touch of cayenne pepper and people who want little more sweeter chicken can add a tsp of sugar too. I used chicken wings and it was amazingly good. Thanks for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was super easy and delicious! I sauteed broccoli and mushrooms in the same sauce and served with vermicelli. The result was fantastic! I wonder if anybody can recommend me one or two good side dishes that go well with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Really good! I used boneless chicken thighs and added the juice of one lime and some ginger - was outstanding on the grill! Use a good quality curry powder - it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Just tried this recipe tonight and really enjoyed it. Easy and yet really tasty! My husband thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
EXCEPTIONAL recipe! I cook a lot of ethnic food with a focus on authentic indigenous flavors, and I can testify that this dish is completely irresistible, simple and carefree and so perfectly Malaysian - a blend of multicultural tastes that is unique and amazing. you know that dish on Chinese buffets advertised as "smoked" chicken chunks that have a savory, sweet, slightly-sticky delicious brownness without a glaze or sauce? this is quite reminiscent of that recipe. I cut boneless chicken breasts into large chunks and put it in the marinade (and forgot it) in a bag in the fridge for 2 days, and it *still* came out moist, tender and with an amazing flavor that was smokey, sweet, exotic and aromatic. I agree that you should do this on a day you can open your windows as the smoking curry in the marinade when it cooks in the oil can be strong (although the taste of the chicken does not come out with a strong curry flavor). Tip: you can set out a bowl of white vinegar which will dissipate the odor in a couple hours. I do agree this should be pan-fried for crispness on the outside, but be careful of the oil and heat being too high or the chicken can char easily. served this with jasmine rice, salad and some fresh fruit (mango and pineapple with calamansi/honey/ginger dressing) and it was superb! Terima kasih to you and your mother, Saadiah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was a tasty and unusual twist on fried chicken. I loved the fact that the chicken is not breaded. Be sure not to get the oil too hot, or it will darken the chicken to where it almost looks black. I marinated the chicken overnight in the oyster sauce, curry, garlic mixture for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aragontn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Really liked it although I tweaked it just a bit. I didn't feel like cutting all the garlic, so I used a garlic,ginger, chili paste we had made a few weeks ago to preserve our garden chilis. Turned out really well with a little kick to it. The only thing I didn't like was you had to watch closely as the oyster sauce would caramalize and burn while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was a wonderful dish. My family loved it. The only downfall is the smell that it leaves in the house afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Fast and easy I love this recipe!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babyb00juz4u
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
this is one easy and delicious recipe. My sister and I loved it and we will be adding it to our favorites. The only thing i changed was I used 3 tbsp of soy sauce and 1 1/2 tbsp hoisin sauce.. (the only reason was because i didnt have oyster sauce on hand) It still turned out great! we'll be making this again and again.. next time i'll try to use oyster sauce. Thank you so much for sharing this easy breezy recipe.. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States