Simple Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I cook a lot. I've worked in professional kitchens in NYC. I am amazed and I mean amazed, at how good and how easy this recipe is. Usually, I'm all about fresh ingredients, but I have to say that the soup mix really makes the flavor come alive. I did make substitutions: I didn't have any packets of vegetable soup mix, only jars of mushroom soup mix and onion soup mix. I used a little of both until the flavor was at a nice level. Also I added sliced black olives I can't recommend it enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This recipie is a GREAT start. I find that if you add about 1-2 tbs of vinegar - and dash of sugar (to taste)- viola! EVERYONE that tries it asks me for the recipie. It's a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Very good! Even my dh says so! So it's a keeper! I too added 1/2 C sour cream with the mayo, a little milk, and also added in chopped red onion, pepper and olives. I also sifted the dry soup mix, then crushed the dried vegies then added them back in, for the flavor. Turned out GREAT! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy to make, but like some of the other reviwers, I thought it was a little on the dry side, and could use some more flavor. I'll probably make this again but next time I will definitely use more mayo, and perhaps put in two packets of soup, instead of one. For the record, I used Barilla's "tubini" pasta, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I'd been looking for a recipe like this, and I have to say this is the best macaroni salad ever! The macaroni salad has so many different flavors in it that it's simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
If you add the extra sour cream (about 1/2 cup) like others mentioned, this is great. I also added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I tried this recipe for thanksgiving when I was asked to bring a salad over to family and I must say it is awesome! Everyone loved it. I added all different color peepers and added a little bit more of the vegetable dry soup mix as well as 1/2 pack of Onion soup mix and 2 spoons of sour cream. It was great! I will be making this salad again and again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My Dad loves this dish! It is so easy to make and is almost full proof! I leave out the green onions and could probably leave out one of the red peppers. (But it is good with two to me!) Makes a ton and keeps very well! Best cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is the first macaroni salad I have ever made and it came out great. It was cheap and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, but made the following changes: I used elbow macaroni, 1 green pepper (would have loved to use red, just didn't have one), and used mayo AND sour cream (cup total). I used the Knorrs vegetable soup mix, which gave it nice flavor & color. I also added frozen peas. Next time, I will add little shrimp. Will take to a summer party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States